Author Topic: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION  (Read 10610 times)

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION
« on: March 23, 2012, 01:31:39 AM »
Balloon Review 028 - Masks by David Brenion DVD

Available from http://www.balloonartwholesale.co.uk priced £25

As requested, here is a review of the latest DVD from the ever popular David Brenion. This is the fourth DVD in his collection and contains instructions for 14 wearable masks. The production quality on the DVD is first rate. Very good camera work, excellent instructions and easy to navigate menus.

Once in a while, a DVD or book is published that pushes our art just that little further. This is one of those. In this DVD, David explains the basics of a mask design that can be used by you to construct many other ideas not included on this DVD. These masks will require a significant investment in 646Q balloons which for many balloonists are not standard stock. The end result is worthy of the expenditure.

On the whole the masks are not overly difficult to make but be warned... trying to create a sidewall bubble in the exact centre of a 646Q can take a little while to master. I would aim this DVD at someone with experience.

I know many of the designs have already been posted on balloonchat, but I include this review for completeness.

I know Graham has just received some stock. Even before reading this review BUY IT!

It will take me a while to complete this DVD as I make all the designs so please be patient.

Here goes....
« Last Edit: April 02, 2013, 01:14:59 AM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 028 - Masks by DAVID BRENION
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2012, 01:41:24 AM »
MONKEY

At the start of this DVD there is a section on how to make the foundation of the mask. In this section, David uses different coloured balloons to show how everything fits together. Even though following along and making this exact design will result in a model that will just be thrown away, it does allow you to learn the basics easily and in preparation for this first mask... the monkey.

The monkey uses the base mask and adds on ears, hair and a nose. The first time I made the monkey it took me around 30mins. Now I have memorised the base and can make the sidewall bubble in the 646Q I can make it in around 10-15mins. The sidewall bubble is a killer so be prepared for some frustration and if you do not get it in the centre the face will be lop-sided.

Of course this mask is not suitable for line work or probably any professional engagement but as a pre-made balloon for birthday or special event this really does go down a storm and is a reputation maker.

I cannot recommend this balloon highly enough.

[attachment=0:33jhbtd5]520-monkeymask.jpg[/attachment:33jhbtd5]
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 028 - Masks by DAVID BRENION
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2012, 01:47:28 AM »
DOG

A variation of the monkey mask. This dog comes supplied with add on and wearable paws. The ears and nose have changed but in essence the design is very similar. I prefer this one from the monkey and in the other dogs I have made I simply left out the tongue. In my personal opinion I prefer it without but you can make your own choice.

I have used this balloon at birthday parties and it has been very successful for me. In my opinion, the time taken to prepare for a party will pay back in a higher fee and more bookings.

Now had there only been two models on the DVD, it would still have been worth £25.

[attachment=1:3rw94dzz]521-dog.jpg[/attachment:3rw94dzz]

And a photo of the dog mask being worn....

[attachment=0:3rw94dzz]aa-dog.jpg[/attachment:3rw94dzz]
« Last Edit: March 24, 2012, 02:24:01 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 028 - Masks by DAVID BRENION
« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2012, 01:52:54 AM »
BULL

This bull has a different shaped nose and uses 321Qs as horns. This balloon is excellent although I am not sure it will have much use in the UK. A slight variation by removing the horns and changing the angle of the eyebrows will result in a cow!

The boys love wearing this and running around charging everyone with their horns!

[attachment=0:l1qb37so]526-bull.jpg[/attachment:l1qb37so]
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

Graham Lee

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 23149
    • View Profile
    • http://www.grahamleesmagic.co.uk/
Re: Balloon Review 028 - Masks by DAVID BRENION
« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2012, 11:14:19 AM »
Yes the DVD has just been delivered by the postman and is now back in stock on the website along with David's other three DVD collection,
http://www.balloonartwholesale.co.uk/produ ... 13-14.html
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »
"Lets Improve Our Art"
Balloon Excellence 2012 Award Winner
For Services to the Balloon Community.
http://www.balloonartwholesale.co.uk
http://www.sempertexballoons.co.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 028 - Masks by DAVID BRENION
« Reply #5 on: March 23, 2012, 06:19:59 PM »
PIRATE

This pirate mask is wonderful. Unfortunately for the printed skull 5" round for the eyes I only had a white balloon and it should have been a black one. It would probably look better with a black one. The mask base is slightly different for this mask as it doesn't have the usual over the head support structure. This time three 646s are used (red, mocha brown and blush) - the sidewall bubble has the added challenge as you need to do one to attach the ear ring but this is easy if you make the 5" round nice and soft. If I was making this one again I would make a better job of the eye brows.

David also shows a sword accessory as an added bonus.

The boys are going to go crazy for this at my party weekend.

[attachment=1:26fjmawk]pirate.jpg[/attachment:26fjmawk]

And the pirate in action....

[attachment=0:26fjmawk]pirate.jpg[/attachment:26fjmawk]
« Last Edit: March 24, 2012, 02:26:14 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

Neil

  • ThreeStars
  • ***
  • Posts: 477
    • View Profile
Re: Balloon Review 028 - Masks by DAVID BRENION
« Reply #6 on: March 23, 2012, 11:58:27 PM »
I'm so jealous of you being able to make these so perfectly, Darren.  I've tried the monkey one several times and (without giving anything way) I just can't get the bit right with the eyes (especially the eyeballs) - it's just not possible, surely, even though I sit and watch Mr B doing it in front of my eyes!!  :shock: I find the sidewall bubble a breeze compared to the eyes, and that's saying something!

Excellent work

--Neil
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »
"I don\'t know the key to success, but the key to failure is trying to please everybody." - Bill Cosby

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Balloon Review 028 - Masks by DAVID BRENION
« Reply #7 on: March 24, 2012, 07:28:32 AM »
Hi Neil,

If you can make the sidewall bubble in the 646Q then the rest of the mask should be easy.

The first time I made a mask I too puzzled over the eyes. They just didn't sit right.

May I be so bold to suggest to an expert like you:

A) do not tie the white 5" rounds so tightly together. Ensure there is a decent length of latex in between the rounds to hold them in place with gentle pressure rather than really tight. The rounds will then stay in place securely.
B) when inserting the white rounds I find it best to put them in the eye sockets individually then tie then together so you get the right pressure.
C) make sure the eyes are secured around the front bubble of the face and not right around the back of the mask.
D) for the pupils, make them slightly larger than requires and the bubble very soft. This way the pupil can be squeezes and wedged between the side of the white round and the outer mask wall.

I hope this helps, happy to take photos to show you when I make my next mask if it helps.

Don't give up!
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

Neil

  • ThreeStars
  • ***
  • Posts: 477
    • View Profile
Re: Balloon Review 028 - Masks by DAVID BRENION
« Reply #8 on: March 24, 2012, 01:00:25 PM »
Thank you for your advice, Darren, and your kind words!

Right - that's my mission for this evening.  I'll post a photo and we can take it from there...

Thanks again for your time and advice.

--Neil

(Edit: Sorry, don't mean to hijack your review thread - will post the photo to another topic)  ;)
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »
"I don\'t know the key to success, but the key to failure is trying to please everybody." - Bill Cosby

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - IN PROGRESS
« Reply #9 on: March 24, 2012, 07:11:43 PM »
ELEPHANT

For those people who have made the first batch of masks, you will be pleased to hear that this one doesn't need a sidewall bubble in the 646Q. However it does need a tulip twist in the 646 instead and this is a finger killer. I originally made this elephant using the full length of the 646 for the trunk but it looked a little silly so I popped it and reduced it in size. Now I have taken a photo I have noticed the eyes have fallen forwards and I really can't be bothered to retake it again. But I think you get the idea. David makes this with light blue eyes but I only had white ones. I don't think this is one of my favourite designs but effective all the same. For an elephant hat it is worth checking out one of Don Caldwell's designs which is on one of his mad hats DVDs. Equally effective and quicker to make.

[attachment=1:393q5k74]SAM_4857.jpg[/attachment:393q5k74]

A better photo of the elephant...

[attachment=0:393q5k74]nelly.jpg[/attachment:393q5k74]
« Last Edit: March 25, 2012, 01:05:57 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - IN PROGRESS
« Reply #10 on: March 25, 2012, 12:56:09 AM »
LION

Now I can make the mask base quickly this lion really wasn't very difficult. With an orange 646 on the top and bottom of this mask it looks massive. The ears are only held in by pressure so if I was giving this to a child I may well glue them in place with some rubber cement. Excellent- I love it!

[attachment=1:isj12wvp]lion.jpg[/attachment:isj12wvp]

And a photo of the mask in action!

[attachment=0:isj12wvp]lion2.jpg[/attachment:isj12wvp]
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

David Brenion

  • TwoStars
  • **
  • Posts: 162
    • View Profile
Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - IN PROGRESS
« Reply #11 on: March 27, 2012, 02:17:44 AM »
You've done a wonderful job so far and I can't wait to see the rest. Thanks so much for the review!
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »

Snurb

  • FourStars
  • ****
  • Posts: 889
    • View Profile
Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - IN PROGRESS
« Reply #12 on: March 27, 2012, 06:44:29 AM »
I now have my DVD ( Thanks Graham). Can't wait to get started.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - IN PROGRESS
« Reply #13 on: March 28, 2012, 06:07:27 PM »
And I can't wait to see your photos ;-)
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - IN PROGRESS
« Reply #14 on: April 02, 2012, 10:04:40 PM »
FOOTBALL HELMET

A very quick and easy american football helmet. Great for sporting events, easy to change to team colours. I may struggle to find a use in the UK but a nice design.

[attachment=0:1u797je3]SAM_4916.jpg[/attachment:1u797je3]
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk