Balloon Chat

Uncategorized Boards => Balloon Review => Topic started by: nippy99 on March 23, 2012, 01:31:39 AM

Title: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION
Post by: nippy99 on March 23, 2012, 01:31:39 AM
Balloon Review 028 - Masks by David Brenion DVD

Available from http://www.balloonartwholesale.co.uk (http://www.balloonartwholesale.co.uk) priced £25

As requested, here is a review of the latest DVD from the ever popular David Brenion. This is the fourth DVD in his collection and contains instructions for 14 wearable masks. The production quality on the DVD is first rate. Very good camera work, excellent instructions and easy to navigate menus.

Once in a while, a DVD or book is published that pushes our art just that little further. This is one of those. In this DVD, David explains the basics of a mask design that can be used by you to construct many other ideas not included on this DVD. These masks will require a significant investment in 646Q balloons which for many balloonists are not standard stock. The end result is worthy of the expenditure.

On the whole the masks are not overly difficult to make but be warned... trying to create a sidewall bubble in the exact centre of a 646Q can take a little while to master. I would aim this DVD at someone with experience.

I know many of the designs have already been posted on balloonchat, but I include this review for completeness.

I know Graham has just received some stock. Even before reading this review BUY IT!

It will take me a while to complete this DVD as I make all the designs so please be patient.

Here goes....
Title: Re: Balloon Review 028 - Masks by DAVID BRENION
Post by: nippy99 on March 23, 2012, 01:41:24 AM
MONKEY

At the start of this DVD there is a section on how to make the foundation of the mask. In this section, David uses different coloured balloons to show how everything fits together. Even though following along and making this exact design will result in a model that will just be thrown away, it does allow you to learn the basics easily and in preparation for this first mask... the monkey.

The monkey uses the base mask and adds on ears, hair and a nose. The first time I made the monkey it took me around 30mins. Now I have memorised the base and can make the sidewall bubble in the 646Q I can make it in around 10-15mins. The sidewall bubble is a killer so be prepared for some frustration and if you do not get it in the centre the face will be lop-sided.

Of course this mask is not suitable for line work or probably any professional engagement but as a pre-made balloon for birthday or special event this really does go down a storm and is a reputation maker.

I cannot recommend this balloon highly enough.

[attachment=0:33jhbtd5]520-monkeymask.jpg[/attachment:33jhbtd5]
Title: Re: Balloon Review 028 - Masks by DAVID BRENION
Post by: nippy99 on March 23, 2012, 01:47:28 AM
DOG

A variation of the monkey mask. This dog comes supplied with add on and wearable paws. The ears and nose have changed but in essence the design is very similar. I prefer this one from the monkey and in the other dogs I have made I simply left out the tongue. In my personal opinion I prefer it without but you can make your own choice.

I have used this balloon at birthday parties and it has been very successful for me. In my opinion, the time taken to prepare for a party will pay back in a higher fee and more bookings.

Now had there only been two models on the DVD, it would still have been worth £25.

[attachment=1:3rw94dzz]521-dog.jpg[/attachment:3rw94dzz]

And a photo of the dog mask being worn....

[attachment=0:3rw94dzz]aa-dog.jpg[/attachment:3rw94dzz]
Title: Re: Balloon Review 028 - Masks by DAVID BRENION
Post by: nippy99 on March 23, 2012, 01:52:54 AM
BULL

This bull has a different shaped nose and uses 321Qs as horns. This balloon is excellent although I am not sure it will have much use in the UK. A slight variation by removing the horns and changing the angle of the eyebrows will result in a cow!

The boys love wearing this and running around charging everyone with their horns!

[attachment=0:l1qb37so]526-bull.jpg[/attachment:l1qb37so]
Title: Re: Balloon Review 028 - Masks by DAVID BRENION
Post by: Graham Lee on March 23, 2012, 11:14:19 AM
Yes the DVD has just been delivered by the postman and is now back in stock on the website along with David's other three DVD collection,
http://www.balloonartwholesale.co.uk/produ ... 13-14.html (http://www.balloonartwholesale.co.uk/products/David_Brenion_DVD_4-513-14.html)
Title: Re: Balloon Review 028 - Masks by DAVID BRENION
Post by: nippy99 on March 23, 2012, 06:19:59 PM
PIRATE

This pirate mask is wonderful. Unfortunately for the printed skull 5" round for the eyes I only had a white balloon and it should have been a black one. It would probably look better with a black one. The mask base is slightly different for this mask as it doesn't have the usual over the head support structure. This time three 646s are used (red, mocha brown and blush) - the sidewall bubble has the added challenge as you need to do one to attach the ear ring but this is easy if you make the 5" round nice and soft. If I was making this one again I would make a better job of the eye brows.

David also shows a sword accessory as an added bonus.

The boys are going to go crazy for this at my party weekend.

[attachment=1:26fjmawk]pirate.jpg[/attachment:26fjmawk]

And the pirate in action....

[attachment=0:26fjmawk]pirate.jpg[/attachment:26fjmawk]
Title: Re: Balloon Review 028 - Masks by DAVID BRENION
Post by: Neil on March 23, 2012, 11:58:27 PM
I'm so jealous of you being able to make these so perfectly, Darren.  I've tried the monkey one several times and (without giving anything way) I just can't get the bit right with the eyes (especially the eyeballs) - it's just not possible, surely, even though I sit and watch Mr B doing it in front of my eyes!!  :shock: I find the sidewall bubble a breeze compared to the eyes, and that's saying something!

Excellent work

--Neil
Title: Balloon Review 028 - Masks by DAVID BRENION
Post by: nippy99 on March 24, 2012, 07:28:32 AM
Hi Neil,

If you can make the sidewall bubble in the 646Q then the rest of the mask should be easy.

The first time I made a mask I too puzzled over the eyes. They just didn't sit right.

May I be so bold to suggest to an expert like you:

A) do not tie the white 5" rounds so tightly together. Ensure there is a decent length of latex in between the rounds to hold them in place with gentle pressure rather than really tight. The rounds will then stay in place securely.
B) when inserting the white rounds I find it best to put them in the eye sockets individually then tie then together so you get the right pressure.
C) make sure the eyes are secured around the front bubble of the face and not right around the back of the mask.
D) for the pupils, make them slightly larger than requires and the bubble very soft. This way the pupil can be squeezes and wedged between the side of the white round and the outer mask wall.

I hope this helps, happy to take photos to show you when I make my next mask if it helps.

Don't give up!
Title: Re: Balloon Review 028 - Masks by DAVID BRENION
Post by: Neil on March 24, 2012, 01:00:25 PM
Thank you for your advice, Darren, and your kind words!

Right - that's my mission for this evening.  I'll post a photo and we can take it from there...

Thanks again for your time and advice.

--Neil

(Edit: Sorry, don't mean to hijack your review thread - will post the photo to another topic)  ;)
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - IN PROGRESS
Post by: nippy99 on March 24, 2012, 07:11:43 PM
ELEPHANT

For those people who have made the first batch of masks, you will be pleased to hear that this one doesn't need a sidewall bubble in the 646Q. However it does need a tulip twist in the 646 instead and this is a finger killer. I originally made this elephant using the full length of the 646 for the trunk but it looked a little silly so I popped it and reduced it in size. Now I have taken a photo I have noticed the eyes have fallen forwards and I really can't be bothered to retake it again. But I think you get the idea. David makes this with light blue eyes but I only had white ones. I don't think this is one of my favourite designs but effective all the same. For an elephant hat it is worth checking out one of Don Caldwell's designs which is on one of his mad hats DVDs. Equally effective and quicker to make.

[attachment=1:393q5k74]SAM_4857.jpg[/attachment:393q5k74]

A better photo of the elephant...

[attachment=0:393q5k74]nelly.jpg[/attachment:393q5k74]
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - IN PROGRESS
Post by: nippy99 on March 25, 2012, 12:56:09 AM
LION

Now I can make the mask base quickly this lion really wasn't very difficult. With an orange 646 on the top and bottom of this mask it looks massive. The ears are only held in by pressure so if I was giving this to a child I may well glue them in place with some rubber cement. Excellent- I love it!

[attachment=1:isj12wvp]lion.jpg[/attachment:isj12wvp]

And a photo of the mask in action!

[attachment=0:isj12wvp]lion2.jpg[/attachment:isj12wvp]
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - IN PROGRESS
Post by: David Brenion on March 27, 2012, 02:17:44 AM
You've done a wonderful job so far and I can't wait to see the rest. Thanks so much for the review!
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - IN PROGRESS
Post by: Snurb on March 27, 2012, 06:44:29 AM
I now have my DVD ( Thanks Graham). Can't wait to get started.
Title: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - IN PROGRESS
Post by: nippy99 on March 28, 2012, 06:07:27 PM
And I can't wait to see your photos ;-)
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - IN PROGRESS
Post by: nippy99 on April 02, 2012, 10:04:40 PM
FOOTBALL HELMET

A very quick and easy american football helmet. Great for sporting events, easy to change to team colours. I may struggle to find a use in the UK but a nice design.

[attachment=0:1u797je3]SAM_4916.jpg[/attachment:1u797je3]
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - IN PROGRESS
Post by: nippy99 on April 05, 2012, 10:46:38 PM
FRANKENSTEIN

This mask is absolutely AMAZING! It looks fantastic and I can't wait until Halloween. This one uses three 646s with only one sidewall bubble (which for me are now becoming easier to do). The grey stitching across the head is a nice touch and the under-inflated heart shaped nose is perfect. Unfortunately I didn't have any gold rounds for the neck bolt so chose goldenrod instead. It looks OK but gold would have been better.

This one does take a while to make but well worth it for those special occasions.

The Dog and Frankenstein are now my two favorites!

[attachment=0:2dyrvvqi]SAM_4931.jpg[/attachment:2dyrvvqi]
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - IN PROGRESS
Post by: nippy99 on April 22, 2012, 08:51:16 PM
SCREAM MASK

An instantly recognisable mask (unfortunately it was by my 14 year old son) - a wonderful mask for Halloween. The eyes use the hard to find black hearts but I am sure an uninflated black round will do. This one uses 2 x 646 but the black one on top could be substituted by a 350Q.

[attachment=0:3oi8r80f]SAM_5071.jpg[/attachment:3oi8r80f]
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - IN PROGRESS
Post by: nippy99 on May 02, 2012, 09:44:23 PM
DEVIL

A fantastic halloween mask. This devil is based on the usual design but I really like the way the 321Q nose and horns fit so perfectly. I turned the Devil ears sideways on which is slightly different to David's design as I feel they look and sit better. This one will be used again in October.

[attachment=0:3bmhnuv3]devilmask.jpg[/attachment:3bmhnuv3]
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - IN PROGRESS
Post by: nippy99 on May 27, 2012, 10:40:41 PM
WITCH

A really wonderful Witch mask but I haven't a clue whether my final version looks like the one of David's DVD as my DVD refused to play to the end of the chapter! The DVD doesn't looked scratched or damaged and I am usually good at playing them all the way through when I first get a DVD. Never mind, if anyone thinks I am missing something let me know. Unfortunately trying to get a good photo of this one was really hard and so you cannot really see the hat very well. It is a really good design and the way the hat comes together is very effective. Perfect for Halloween.

[attachment=0:cdjjxbkk]witch.jpg[/attachment:cdjjxbkk]
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - IN PROGRESS
Post by: nippy99 on June 26, 2012, 08:51:47 PM
BRIDE OF FRANKENSTEIN

This Bride of Frankenstein looks much better in real life than in my photo - in fact I got very frustrated trying to get a decent photo. You simply have to make this one. Certainly not one of my favourite masks (i prefer the Frankenstein one) but still very good. This one uses 3 x 646Q which makes it stand taller than most designs.

[attachment=0:1e873je0]bride.jpg[/attachment:1e873je0]
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - IN PROGRESS
Post by: Professor Play on July 01, 2012, 01:08:13 AM
Should I be as afraid of this as I seem to be?  I'd love to learn these, order the vid.  Just a wee bit worried!
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - IN PROGRESS
Post by: nippy99 on July 01, 2012, 01:36:51 AM
What are you worried about?? Feel free to ask any questions - happy to offer help and advice as too with David Brenion who frequents these boards!

What puts you off having a go at these?

Best wishes Darren
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - IN PROGRESS
Post by: mrgiggles on July 01, 2012, 05:36:19 AM
I have purchased this DVD after seeing Nippy's review.  David's method is clear and well explained, like Nippy explained you learn how to build the base structure and then everything is added on from there.   All of David's NiftyBalloon materials are awesome ! Darren is a champion for giving us an insight into how easy/difficult each model is, and David is just a balloon twisting legend!

Prof Play I hope you take the leap like I did, I'm sure you won't be disappointed
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - IN PROGRESS
Post by: Professor Play on July 01, 2012, 06:04:21 AM
I just heard some concerns about a sidewall bubble in a 646.  I know I'd be able to do it...and I know things take  a lot of practice.  My concern is always, "how much practice?"  Because everything I do I practice for hours....and I like to do a lot of different stuff:)
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - IN PROGRESS
Post by: mrgiggles on July 01, 2012, 09:13:57 AM
I can totally understand your apprehension with the sidewall bubble, because I felt the same way when I first heard about it.  But I figured that if i wanted to keep up with the evolution of twisting I would need to learn it. So I just kept on practicing on 646's until they popped or deflated until I got comfortable with the technique.  With a little bit of practice I'm sure you will be fine, plus luckily for us it's not too easy or everyone would be making wickedly kool balloons.  When it comes to ballooning my mantra is 'that there is no short cut to any place worth going'.  I look forward to hearing about your success Prof !
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - IN PROGRESS
Post by: Snurb on July 01, 2012, 09:53:51 AM
He has done a free tutorial on his YouTube channel that is free and really good. Hope this helps.
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - IN PROGRESS
Post by: Snurb on July 01, 2012, 10:00:47 AM
Here's my first attempt. Sorry about the sideways picture it's my phone resizer. It doesn't like portrait pictures.
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - IN PROGRESS
Post by: mrgiggles on July 01, 2012, 11:37:58 AM
I think that your pirate looks fantastic Snurb !! I can't wait to try making the elephant mask!!
Title: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - IN PROGRESS
Post by: nippy99 on July 01, 2012, 12:19:13 PM
Hi Prof,

I am not sure how advanced in your twisting but if you are comfortable twisting the lobes on hearts, or a bubble at the top or side of a 5" round then you are almost there.

Next try a 350q, fully inflate, soften, then try to get a bubble on the side wall as close to the middle of the balloon as possible. The first few times the 350q will burst, your side wall bubble will be huge and not centre, but keep going.

For 646qs the principals are the same but you do have to wrestle with the balloon to get the side wall bubble.

The end result is worth it. Go for it and ask us for help if you need it.
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - IN PROGRESS
Post by: Rob the Balloon Guy on July 02, 2012, 12:56:10 AM
A hint getting a sidewall bubble on a 646:

You can help yourself out by putting a small bubble from a 260 inside the 646 beforehand to grab off to make the twist.  Much like inserting a ball inside of a 260, you can use a superball or make a bubble from a 260, and since the 646 has a wider neck, you can stretch it open with your fingers and insert the ball inside.  When you inflate the 646, you can grab the ball from the outside wherever you need it to be, then give it a twist, much like you would grab off a raisin for a raisin twist.  This method takes a bit longer if you're going to make the ball from a 260, but it can be pretty helpful if you can't twist off a sidewall bubble yet.
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - IN PROGRESS
Post by: nippy99 on July 02, 2012, 12:57:33 AM
Rob, that's a top tip!
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - IN PROGRESS
Post by: nippy99 on August 02, 2012, 11:49:09 PM
SKULL

Based on the usual design this skull has a different nose and additional 350s around the face and jaw. The real character is made by shaping the balloons correctly to give the skull appearance. An additional bonus here is David's explanation for a really usable wearable hand/claw - for those of you who have David's superhero costumes will be familiar with this.

[attachment=0:pc9kffu9]skull.jpg[/attachment:pc9kffu9]
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - IN PROGRESS
Post by: funat60 on August 03, 2012, 11:41:48 AM
OK nippy, you have almost sold me on yet another DVD.  My only question is this, are there hidden eye holes so the wearer can actually see when it's being worn?
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - IN PROGRESS
Post by: nippy99 on August 03, 2012, 01:09:06 PM
Hi - the wearer looks through the mouth - only one more model to go with this one and I'm done.
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - IN PROGRESS
Post by: funat60 on August 04, 2012, 03:55:22 PM
Thanks nippy, I'm a little embarrassed to have asked this question now. :oops:
Title: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - IN PROGRESS
Post by: SoniaPayne on August 04, 2012, 04:08:49 PM
Hi there Darren. Fantastic review. I have looked at this DVD a few times (although I cannot buy anything else this month). Just one question am worried about balloons popping around the ears of the wearer as I have heard this can cause hearing loss. Do the headband part of this sit on the ears of the wearer or close to the ears? Thanks for your help.

Take care
KR
Sonia
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - IN PROGRESS
Post by: nippy99 on August 04, 2012, 05:35:18 PM
Hi Sonia,

I haven't had a balloon mask pop as yet and like anything else I make it is a case of 'buyer beware'. Once the balloon has left my hands it is not my responsibility. I won't say any balloon goes directly over the wearers ear so should be OK. Make the balloons nice and soft and that lower's the risk of popping.

I wouldn't overly worry - what happens if one of your models pop and pings the child in the eye?? Same thing right?

Just make sure you have public liability insurance and a contract in place for any paid gig. Failing that, if you are overly worried, display a sign.

Cheers
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - IN PROGRESS
Post by: mbfloyd on October 18, 2012, 01:18:46 AM
David's Masks! DVD can now be purchased for download online at  http://http://www.balloon-animals.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=57
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - IN PROGRESS
Post by: Lili Popi on October 21, 2012, 01:32:30 PM
I just received my DVD, it's very, very good! It's easier than I thought...
(http://balloonchat.co.uk/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fhttp%26%2358%3B%2F%2Fimages4%26%2346%3Bhiboox%26%2346%3Bcom%2Fimages%2F4212%2Fa41d96a2f5f5d86f2a85529acc9cd964%26%2346%3Bjpg&hash=5100a0e1835e6ad0c0201c50122272bd) (http://http://www.hiboox.fr/go/images/divers/dsc-0004,a41d96a2f5f5d86f2a85529acc9cd964.jpg.html)
Title: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - IN PROGRESS
Post by: SoniaPayne on October 21, 2012, 02:20:31 PM
Quote from: "mbfloyd"
David's Masks! DVD can now be purchased for download online at  http://http://www.balloon-animals.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=57
Hi David - I had a look at your website - are these downloadable or watch on line?
Thanks in advance for your help :)
Sonia x
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - IN PROGRESS
Post by: nippy99 on October 21, 2012, 02:49:08 PM
Hi Sonia

Having access this site once you have paid for the videos you can download them to your PC for viewing or burning on to DVD, or watch them on-line as well.

If you are thinking of buying the masks DVD you will need to stock up on 646Qs!
Title: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - IN PROGRESS
Post by: SoniaPayne on October 21, 2012, 05:49:31 PM
Quote from: "nippy99"
Hi Sonia

Having access this site once you have paid for the videos you can download them to your PC for viewing or burning on to DVD, or watch them on-line as well.

If you are thinking of buying the masks DVD you will need to stock up on 646Qs!

Thanks Darren! Thats good as I don't want to have to access the internet each time I want to watch it :) Other way round I've just ordered a load of 646s. Then I saw the info re buying a digital version. Must be divine inspiration!! Lol Thats what I will say to the better half when they notice another DVD on the shelf!!! Lol
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - IN PROGRESS
Post by: nippy99 on October 21, 2012, 10:08:20 PM
SANTA

And finally I reach my last mask from this DVD. It is of course Santa and I have to say it is absolutely incredible. The balloon is similar to the pirate mask in design. For the eyes, David uses a double stuffed white inside a pearl azzure round. Well I used a robin's egg inside a white and it seems OK. The ears and nose are also double stuffed red inside blush to give a more pinky look.

Other than the usual sidewall bubble in the 646Q (i am getting good at them now) this one has the added bonus of a raisin inside the red 646 that goes across the top of the head. This doesn't really cause a problem.

I have nine traditional theatre style Christmas shows this December and will be using this as a giveaway at every show. A real reputation maker.

[attachment=0:3ukm5n9u]santa.JPG[/attachment:3ukm5n9u]
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - IN PROGRESS
Post by: nippy99 on October 21, 2012, 10:12:04 PM
SUMMARY

Without doubt, this has to be one of the BEST balloon DVDs around. The mask concept is inspirational and the models contained on this DVD are reputation makers. Learn to master the 646 side wall bubble and to memorise the core design and you will be able to make these balloons 'live' for an amazed and appreciative audience.

The DVD instruction is first rate, easy to follow and I would suggest if you don't own this DVD yet then stock up on 646Qs and buy it - you will get back what you paid easily.

I can't wait to see what David comes up with next. I have noticed some other designs on balloonhq.com that others have made and the possibilities are endless.
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - RATING A+
Post by: Graham Lee on October 21, 2012, 11:24:09 PM
And the qualatex website may be the last chance to get your hard copy DVD sent to you before David goes all digital. I may be the only place left with it in stock.
http://www.balloonartwholesale.co.uk/catal ... -14-3.html (http://www.balloonartwholesale.co.uk/catalog/DVD_s_CD_s-14-3.html)
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - RATING A+
Post by: nippy99 on October 21, 2012, 11:40:41 PM
I'm old fashioned - you can't beat a nice DVD on your shelf but then again I said the same about VHS Video when DVD came along!
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - RATING A+
Post by: David Brenion on October 24, 2012, 09:46:36 AM
Thanks for the review, Darren!
As Graham mentioned, there are very few physical copies of this DVD left. In face, Graham does indeed have the LAST remaining copies. So if you love the look of a DVD on your shelf, better buy one from him before it's too late.
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - RATING A+
Post by: tangoo on October 25, 2012, 07:09:35 PM
For my first attempt I used the multicoloured base approach from the first video to help keep things clear in my mind. Being miserly, I didn't want to waste balloons, so I came up with this clownish chap.
(http://balloonchat.co.uk/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fhttp%26%2358%3B%2F%2Fballoonchat%26%2346%3Bco%26%2346%3Buk%2Fresources%2Fimage%2Fthumb%2F18564&hash=a6bf13c9103997807bcaf91b3f2ac577)

I'm very pleased. For a fairly moderate amount of time and effort, this approach has the potential for huge punter impact.
Title: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - RATING A+
Post by: nippy99 on October 25, 2012, 09:21:15 PM
Nice one - it won't be long until you will be able to make the base mask within a few minutes. Enjoy the DVD.
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - RATING A+
Post by: Snurb on October 26, 2012, 01:26:16 PM
My first Frankie mask
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - RATING A+
Post by: Capitaine Ballons on October 31, 2012, 07:13:44 PM
Balloon elephant mask from D.Brenion  -  that 6 years little girl  who got it disappeared behind  :mrgreen:

(http://balloonchat.co.uk/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fhttp%26%2358%3B%2F%2Fimg15%26%2346%3Bhostingpics%26%2346%3Bnet%2Fpics%2F534737IMG4043%26%2346%3Bjpg&hash=6003dc39efdb6c5d77d4cf43f1acfe4d) (http://http://www.hostingpics.net/viewer.php?id=534737IMG4043.jpg)
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - RATING A+
Post by: Snurb on October 31, 2012, 10:08:00 PM
Frank made an appearance at tonight's Halloween disco for a local special needs school.
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION - RATING A+
Post by: Leslie on March 31, 2013, 10:09:50 AM
Just downloaded and watched this dvd. Simply great! Congrats David!
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION
Post by: Areyouhappydad on January 03, 2014, 07:11:28 PM
Having seen this review and seen others using it, I finally got the tutorial today. So, using the limited stock I had, I went for the devil head ( had the right colour 646 and 350).
I am really pleased with my purchase and this sorts me out for dressing up days at school for the next few years.
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION
Post by: Lynnae on January 03, 2014, 10:25:09 PM
This has truly been the most helpful tutorial I have ever used / purchased.  I've used these for all kinds of designs and they are GREAT!!
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION
Post by: Areyouhappydad on January 04, 2014, 05:15:22 PM
Here is the lion that I made his afternoon. After two fails, I was down to my last yellow 636 (I don't have any blush) so I used Rob's suggestion of putting a 260 bubble inside the 646 and it worked ok.
Really need to consider investing more money now into my hobby so that I can continue. I think I have enough to do Frankenstein and that is it.
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION
Post by: phoenix on January 05, 2014, 09:42:11 AM
Hi Stuart

They look great. I think the lion looks far better substituting the blush for a yellow  

Sometimes we come across improvements by accident  :D
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION
Post by: Graham Lee on January 05, 2014, 10:49:04 AM
Stuart I saw the lion last night and thought it looked good, better than I can remember seeing. Now Kevin says the colours have changed from the original.
If so your lion does look very striking  :)
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION
Post by: Areyouhappydad on January 05, 2014, 04:53:42 PM
Thanks for the kind words Kevin and Graham. Here is the last one I can make with my current stock. I found Frankenstein tricky for some reason. The proportions don't quite look right. His is partly the eyes but there is something about the jaw and top of the head that seems a bit unbalanced. Practice makes perfect though  :D
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION
Post by: phoenix on January 05, 2014, 06:08:20 PM
Here's a thought Stuart.....keep the Jaw proportions like that, and remove the black hair and stitches, so his head is bald

Then take the bolts off, make them in green and put them on top of his head, and then you have Shrek

Shrek was the first impression I got when I saw how your proportions looked  :D  :D
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION
Post by: Areyouhappydad on January 05, 2014, 06:22:06 PM
Funny you should say shrek Kevin. My friend just made a similar observation. If I have time tomorrow I may well give it a go.
I did change the eyes for smaller ones and the look did improve  :D
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION
Post by: Areyouhappydad on January 05, 2014, 07:45:25 PM
Could not wait til tomorrow so here is my shrek effort. Added another 350 around the top once I had removed the 646. Perhaps the ears are too long!
Title: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION
Post by: David Brenion on April 27, 2014, 08:30:24 AM
Hey, that would make a good shrek! Nicely done :)


-David Brenion
www.niftyballoons.com (http://www.niftyballoons.com)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION
Post by: Mujician on July 10, 2018, 10:05:20 PM
You mention about using these masks for events/parties etc. Did you mean you would make them for customers at the gig, or did you mean you would be making one beforehand for you to wear at the gig?
Title: Re: 028 - MASKS BY DAVID BRENION
Post by: Alergy on July 11, 2018, 06:45:29 PM
Personally
I would make them before

It currently talkes me about half an hour per mask

Do your maths
2 hour party, with 15 to 20 kids - Not enough time