Balloon Chat

Uncategorized Boards => Balloon Review => Topic started by: nippy99 on June 26, 2016, 11:51:09 AM

Title: 158 - MAGIC BALLOON DESIGN VOL 2 BY BEATING HYUN GU-PARK
Post by: nippy99 on June 26, 2016, 11:51:09 AM
Balloon Review 158 - Magic Balloon Design Vol 2 by Beating (BOOK)

Available from http://www.balloonconnexion.com (http://www.balloonconnexion.com) - priced 76 singapore dollars (which includes shipping to UK) approx £41 GBP - you will need to email sales@balloonconnexion.com to place an order which took about a week of exchanging emails (due to the time difference) and once the book was despatched it arrived within a week all in pristine condition and signed by Beating which is cool!

Beating's first two books were excellent so if you don't know about them checkout both my reviews in this forum.

This new book contains 14 characters with additional balloon ideas and variations. The book itself is 100 pages long in A5 format (or maybe slightly bigger). It contains 100s of colour photos and very LITTLE english language. All the descriptions are written in Korean (looks the same as Chinese characters). Don't let this put you off. Using the handy guide below you can work out the various colours and the number of pumps to fill each balloon. The measurements are given in centimetres. Most of the time I just looked at the photos to work out the design and the end result is similar to the original design.

[attachment=0:31e3kvb6]korean.jpg[/attachment:31e3kvb6]

On the front cover of the book it says this is for twisters with upper-intermediate skills. None of the twists are that challenging you just need to be comfortable making up some gaps in the descriptions that you cannot understand.

If I managed it so can you...

Let's see what we have here...
Title: Re: 158 - MAGIC BALLOON DESIGN VOL 2 BY BEATING HYUN GU-PARK
Post by: nippy99 on June 26, 2016, 11:57:00 AM
BOOTS

This is Boots the Monkey from Dora The Explorer. The head design is new and is used in many of Beatings models. The use of marriage twists to join many of the components together gives a nice neat finish. It stands tall, is well proportioned and looks brilliant. Obviously not suitable for line work or making 'live' but a lovely piece to sell as a delivery or as a pre-ordered item for a birthday party. Really nice.

[attachment=0:3sltwcem]867-boots.jpg[/attachment:3sltwcem]

Beating includes variation for a party cup topper - the body is replaced with a clear balloon filled with sweets and the final model sits on top of the party cup - you will need to buy the book to see this!
Title: Re: 158 - MAGIC BALLOON DESIGN VOL 2 BY BEATING HYUN GU-PARK
Post by: nippy99 on June 26, 2016, 12:04:30 PM
SWIPER

"Swiper STOP swiping" - yes I have kids although too old to be watching Dora the Explorer now! Swiper is based on similar principles to Boots but with a completely head design. Getting the nose to sit tightly on the end of the 321Q yellow nose is fun. The perfect addition to your Dora collection.

[attachment=0:3kjoxggy]swiper.jpg[/attachment:3kjoxggy]
Title: Re: 158 - MAGIC BALLOON DESIGN VOL 2 BY BEATING HYUN GU-PARK
Post by: nippy99 on July 01, 2016, 08:51:26 PM
BENNY

This is another character from Dora The Explorer. An interesting head design using 5" rounds - looks great from the front but possibly a little odd from the rear. The body design is quick and easy and can be used for lots of different characters. Some nice elements to learn from here.

[attachment=0:2p6x64wx]benny.jpg[/attachment:2p6x64wx]
Title: Re: 158 - MAGIC BALLOON DESIGN VOL 2 BY BEATING HYUN GU-PARK
Post by: nippy99 on July 01, 2016, 08:57:15 PM
STITCH

I love this character from Lilo and Stitch. A really good head design. Fairly difficult to follow along with the instructions but I think I did OK. It's a little tricky to get the ears the same size for some strange reason. This one should get better when I have made it a few times - the end result isn't perfect.

[attachment=0:3jadjis4]stitch.jpg[/attachment:3jadjis4]
Title: 158 - MAGIC BALLOON DESIGN VOL 2 BY BEATING HYUN GU-PARK
Post by: SoniaPayne on July 02, 2016, 06:35:20 AM
Quote from: "nippy99"
BENNY

This is another character from Dora The Explorer. An interesting head design using 5" rounds - looks great from the front but possibly a little odd from the rear. The body design is quick and easy and can be used for lots of different characters. Some nice elements to learn from here.

[attachment=0:3uxyyzra]benny.jpg[/attachment:3uxyyzra]

He is really nice :) x


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Title: 158 - MAGIC BALLOON DESIGN VOL 2 BY BEATING HYUN GU-PARK
Post by: SoniaPayne on July 02, 2016, 06:37:10 AM
I don't have the 3rd book but it looks good so far the Dora characters look very good :) thanks for the review Darren I will keep my eye on this one :) x


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Title: Re: 158 - MAGIC BALLOON DESIGN VOL 2 BY BEATING HYUN GU-PARK
Post by: nippy99 on December 26, 2016, 12:48:00 PM
JERRY

If anyone is familiar with Beating's Cartoon Book, this body design will be second nature to you. The head design is good, the ears took a few attempts to get right. If the sizing is wrong then the pink balloon keeps popping out and the ears do not sit straight.

[attachment=0:1fqfupjs]972-jerry.jpg[/attachment:1fqfupjs]
Title: Re: 158 - MAGIC BALLOON DESIGN VOL 2 BY BEATING HYUN GU-PARK
Post by: nippy99 on December 26, 2016, 01:42:46 PM
FRED FLINTSTONE

A wonderful head design to use for a whole range of characters. Instantly recognisable. This balloon is best viewed from the front. The side view looks a little odd due to the way the eye section is constructed. The head design sits tight on the body. I like this one.

[attachment=0:2vux8sq4]976-fred.jpg[/attachment:2vux8sq4]
Title: Re: 158 - MAGIC BALLOON DESIGN VOL 2 BY BEATING HYUN GU-PARK
Post by: nippy99 on December 27, 2016, 03:53:39 PM
BATAKO-SAN (Baker)

Using the same style head as Fred Flintstone, this Baker character looks great and stands very tall. The 646Q hat with a geo of top is very effective. I messed up on the body bubbles as they are not exactly the same size. A good example of how versatile the head design is.

[attachment=0:3nz7nufd]978-baker.jpg[/attachment:3nz7nufd]
Title: Re: 158 - MAGIC BALLOON DESIGN VOL 2 BY BEATING HYUN GU-PARK
Post by: nippy99 on December 28, 2016, 10:27:48 AM
MIFFY

These are really cute Miffy designs. Using a large round balloon for the head and the ears attached by a marriage twist, these are fairly quick to make. I struggled to make the ears fit together snug at the base so glued them! I'm sure if my marriage twist was tighter then it would have been OK. Easy to change the colours for other Miffy characters. Very cute. These look great wrapped in plastic for a delivery piece.

[attachment=0:35ejk1n4]898-miffyorange.jpg[/attachment:35ejk1n4]

[attachment=1:35ejk1n4]897-miffyyellow.jpg[/attachment:35ejk1n4]
Title: Re: 158 - MAGIC BALLOON DESIGN VOL 2 BY BEATING HYUN GU-PARK
Post by: nippy99 on December 29, 2016, 09:36:39 PM
ROADRUNNER

I've seen many Road Runner designs over the years and this one is more complicated than most. The legs on this design do not sit correctly if not secured on the grey balloon at the bottom. To be honest, I will stick to my regular design which is more basic but faster to make!

[attachment=0:3gzvozt3]982-roadrunner.jpg[/attachment:3gzvozt3]
Title: Re: 158 - MAGIC BALLOON DESIGN VOL 2 BY BEATING HYUN GU-PARK
Post by: nippy99 on December 30, 2016, 02:35:33 PM
LOVE BEARS

A fairly standard bear design but with two bears linked together arm in arm. The original design uses an un-inflated heart. I inflated it slightly and now it looks more round! The rear of the bears is nice as you can see them linking arms. Perfect for valentines day or mounted on a cup.

[attachment=0:2i9rlg0q]1013-bears.jpg[/attachment:2i9rlg0q]
Title: Re: 158 - MAGIC BALLOON DESIGN VOL 2 BY BEATING HYUN GU-PARK
Post by: nippy99 on December 31, 2016, 06:14:21 PM
FLOWER STICK

A bit of a simple one today but uses a concept of mounting a balloon on a stick. Good for giveaways but don't use a kebab stick like I have as it it too pointed! The example in the book has the flower wrapped in plastic. Good for giveaways and makes it easy to display by push the stick into that foam stuff that florists use.

[attachment=0:1ddels28]1015-flowerstick.jpg[/attachment:1ddels28]
Title: Re: 158 - MAGIC BALLOON DESIGN VOL 2 BY BEATING HYUN GU-PARK
Post by: nippy99 on January 01, 2017, 02:14:25 AM
MIKE WAZOWSKI

The first forum post of 2017 - Happy New Year Everyone!

This design is from Monsters Inc. Not exactly the same rounded shape as the animated character but nevertheless I really like this one. The instructions are a little complicated to follow so this will require some experimentation. The end design sits together nice and tight and is free standing. It takes a little while to make but don't rush the body design or you will mess it up.

[attachment=0:2a5hor21]1092-mike.jpg[/attachment:2a5hor21]
Title: Re: 158 - MAGIC BALLOON DESIGN VOL 2 BY BEATING HYUN GU-PARK
Post by: nippy99 on January 02, 2017, 02:27:34 PM
PORORO

I haven't a clue who this character is! I assume it is a japanese/korean animated character. This one is fun to make. The head is a little difficult to follow and to ensure the yellow hat bubbles stay close together. Not one I will use again.

[attachment=0:1lgpo379]1093-pororo.jpg[/attachment:1lgpo379]
Title: Re: 158 - MAGIC BALLOON DESIGN VOL 2 BY BEATING HYUN GU-PARK
Post by: nippy99 on January 03, 2017, 12:17:56 PM
CANDY IN BALLOON 1

A very simple way to give away sweets in a balloon. Clearly I haven't put any sweets in the clear round but you get the idea. The four pinch twists on top hold the heart tight and secure.

The only problem with this is unless it is held in the hand, it doesn't stand upright. Placed on a table it will roll onto its side. Not the best way to display a balloon.

[attachment=0:1g9aw20f]1136-candycup1.jpg[/attachment:1g9aw20f]
Title: Re: 158 - MAGIC BALLOON DESIGN VOL 2 BY BEATING HYUN GU-PARK
Post by: Graham Lee on January 03, 2017, 01:17:18 PM
Quote from: "nippy99"
The only problem with this is unless it is held in the hand, it doesn't stand upright.
Placed on a table it will roll onto its side. Not the best way to display a balloon.
If you put the red balloon around the clear twice might that hold it up in place?
Title: Re: 158 - MAGIC BALLOON DESIGN VOL 2 BY BEATING HYUN GU-PARK
Post by: nippy99 on January 04, 2017, 06:03:22 PM
Good idea Graham, and when weighted with some sweets it should stand on its own.
Title: Re: 158 - MAGIC BALLOON DESIGN VOL 2 BY BEATING HYUN GU-PARK
Post by: nippy99 on January 04, 2017, 06:05:09 PM
BAIKINMAN

Simply haven't a clue about this character, although this design does have a few neat features. I particularly like the small wings at the rear and the 160Q across the face. Nothing complicated here.

[attachment=0:3jsdyq4q]1094-baikinman.jpg[/attachment:3jsdyq4q]
Title: Re: 158 - MAGIC BALLOON DESIGN VOL 2 BY BEATING HYUN GU-PARK
Post by: nippy99 on January 05, 2017, 07:22:03 PM
CANDY IN BALLOON 2

A nice variation of the first heart design. Uses the standard flower petal design and linked with a 160Q. Very good.

[attachment=0:37a3nku2]1137-flower.jpg[/attachment:37a3nku2]
Title: Re: 158 - MAGIC BALLOON DESIGN VOL 2 BY BEATING HYUN GU-PARK
Post by: nippy99 on January 06, 2017, 09:02:13 PM
CANDY IN BALLOON 3

Another good party cup. There are two options here. Sweets can be held in the cup or in a clear bubble as the wings of the ladybird. The head on my one tips down a little too much.  Fairly quick to make and an easy up-sell for a party.

[attachment=0:3v6dvc0d]1138-ladybird.jpg[/attachment:3v6dvc0d]
Title: Re: 158 - MAGIC BALLOON DESIGN VOL 2 BY BEATING HYUN GU-PARK
Post by: nippy99 on January 07, 2017, 01:28:23 PM
FLOWER TUBE

In Beating's original design he uses a plastic tube rather than a plastic cup so I have adapted this slightly. This cup has a large flower on top made up of 5" rounds. The green flower pot is a nice touch and the end result is large and impressive without a great deal of effort. The 5" rounds need to all be the same size otherwise it will look a little odd.

If I had a precision sizer/balloon inflator, I could make loads of these really quickly.

I will be using this one.

[attachment=0:32a5vei7]1104-flowertube.jpg[/attachment:32a5vei7]
Title: Re: 158 - MAGIC BALLOON DESIGN VOL 2 BY BEATING HYUN GU-PARK
Post by: nippy99 on January 08, 2017, 07:29:00 PM
FLOWER TUBE 2

A rather grand looking balloon sweetie cup. In the original design, Beating uses a straight plastic tube to hold the sweets but I have adapted this to use a standard cup. There is a need to pierce a hole at the bottom of the cup to hold it in position on the geo base. The top section of flowers is lovely and could be used as a standalone item.

If you are trying to impress this isn't a bad one to choose.

[attachment=0:16fhrhq8]1135-balloontube2.jpg[/attachment:16fhrhq8]
Title: Re: 158 - MAGIC BALLOON DESIGN VOL 2 BY BEATING HYUN GU-PARK
Post by: nippy99 on January 09, 2017, 08:53:32 PM
RABBIT

A rather standard balloon rabbit designed to be mounted on top of a balloon stick (the one with a plastic holder on top) - the double bubble neck allows it to sit nice and tight on top.  Not ground breaking.

[attachment=0:1q4slldc]1095-rabbitstick.jpg[/attachment:1q4slldc]
Title: Re: 158 - MAGIC BALLOON DESIGN VOL 2 BY BEATING HYUN GU-PARK
Post by: nippy99 on January 10, 2017, 10:09:33 PM
ANPANMAN

Another japanese animated character (i think!) - I haven't a clue who this is. I don't really like the overall design as the 5" balloons across the face do not sit correctly. The most interesting thing about this design is the cape on his back. This is a great simple way to make a cape for any super hero.

[attachment=1:1j2ggo8o]1139-anpanman.jpg[/attachment:1j2ggo8o]

[attachment=0:1j2ggo8o]20170103_214152.jpg[/attachment:1j2ggo8o]
Title: Re: 158 - MAGIC BALLOON DESIGN VOL 2 BY BEATING HYUN GU-PARK
Post by: nippy99 on January 11, 2017, 09:45:49 PM
BLUE BIRD

This must be the best design in the book. I absolutely love it. This one is somewhat difficult to follow along and I had to attempt it a few times. Really like the wing design. The eyes I made are slightly too big. The joining of the black beak is tricky and it needs to sit tight against the bird's head.

A wonderful compliment to the classic Patrick Van De Ven bird collection.

Check it out!

[attachment=0:bwaq1fin]1140-bluebird.jpg[/attachment:bwaq1fin]
Title: Re: 158 - MAGIC BALLOON DESIGN VOL 2 BY BEATING HYUN GU-PARK
Post by: nippy99 on January 11, 2017, 10:06:37 PM
SUMMARY

Another wonderful book full of impressive creations. I would only recommend this for advanced twisters on the basis that it is hard to interpret the korean text. Relying on photos alone requires some improvisation along the way. Certainly not all the balloons are for the real-world as they take too long to make but many concepts learned can be used for many designs.

Not the easiest book to get hold of but well worth the investment.

Grab it before it goes out of print.
Title: Re: 158 - MAGIC BALLOON DESIGN VOL 2 BY BEATING HYUN GU-PARK
Post by: Chris_kimber on July 27, 2017, 12:48:21 AM
Did you learn any Korean?
Title: Re: 158 - MAGIC BALLOON DESIGN VOL 2 BY BEATING HYUN GU-PARK
Post by: Mujician on July 10, 2018, 07:08:49 PM
JERRY

If anyone is familiar with Beating's Cartoon Book, this body design will be second nature to you. The head design is good, the ears took a few attempts to get right. If the sizing is wrong then the pink balloon keeps popping out and the ears do not sit straight.

[attachment=0:1fqfupjs]<!-- ia0 -->972-jerry.jpg<!-- ia0 -->[/attachment:1fqfupjs]

Where might I find the cartoon book? I haven’t heard of this before
Title: Re: 158 - MAGIC BALLOON DESIGN VOL 2 BY BEATING HYUN GU-PARK
Post by: Graham Lee on July 10, 2018, 09:27:49 PM
I believe only second hand now if someone is selling.
You could contact him direct but I think others have mentioned he has none left for sale.
Title: Re: 158 - MAGIC BALLOON DESIGN VOL 2 BY BEATING HYUN GU-PARK
Post by: Mujician on July 10, 2018, 10:44:56 PM
Ah thanks! I have the volume 1 book. My wife bought it from you for my 1st anniversary present!
I googled his real name in the hope of finding a website to contact him. No luck. How might I find out any contact info for him?
Title: Re: 158 - MAGIC BALLOON DESIGN VOL 2 BY BEATING HYUN GU-PARK
Post by: Graham Lee on July 10, 2018, 10:54:46 PM
Maybe via Facebook?