Author Topic: 003 - CARTOON CHARACTERS & FAMOUS FACES VOL 1  (Read 2008 times)

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
003 - CARTOON CHARACTERS & FAMOUS FACES VOL 1
« on: April 22, 2011, 09:16:22 PM »
Here is my third review. Something different this time and perhaps not a DVD some of you may know about....

Enjoy...
« Last Edit: April 02, 2013, 01:09:17 AM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

TJ Temple

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Balloon Review 003 - CARTOON CHARACTERS & FAMOUS FACES VOL 1
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2011, 05:51:56 PM »
Great review thanks for posting.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »
TJ Temple
Toe Joe the clown

darling ducey

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Balloon Review 003 - CARTOON CHARACTERS & FAMOUS FACES VOL 1
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2011, 11:12:54 AM »
Thanks so much for taking the time to do the reviews.
I always look forward to reading your take on the info
out there!!! :)

Darling Ducey
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 003 - CARTOON CHARACTERS & FAMOUS FACES V
« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2012, 07:21:46 PM »
This DVD is released by Cozmic Balloons and contains five designs based on cartoon characters. This DVD is aimed at advanced balloon modellers and I am not surprised given the need to improvise in places due to the lack of clarity of
descriptions and close-up camera work. All too many times you are left to guess bubble sizes and I found myself just listening to the instructions rather than watching the screen.

The price of £15 offers good value for money and three of the designs (Gromit, Ninja Turtle and Spongebob) were a pleasant surprise. If you are happy to make up parts of the design yourself then I can see this DVD being useful but if you have any doubt over your ballooning capability I would choose an alternative DVD or Ebook. This DVD is available from
http://www.cozmicballoons.co.uk -
« Last Edit: April 02, 2013, 01:09:31 AM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 003 - CARTOON CHARACTERS & FAMOUS FACES V
« Reply #4 on: March 25, 2012, 07:22:58 PM »
POOH BEAR

In my opinion a substandard pooh bear and one that  I found didn’t fit together very well. The head doesn’t sit right and in fact my 12 year old son made this one which turned out better than mine. I just got frustrated with it and won’t be making it again!

[attachment=0:dmzx0xrh]072-poohbear.JPG[/attachment:dmzx0xrh]
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 003 - CARTOON CHARACTERS & FAMOUS FACES V
« Reply #5 on: March 25, 2012, 07:23:48 PM »
EEYORE

The only thing that makes this balloon look like Eeyore is the balloon colour and the trademark red bow on the tail. An easy balloon to make but easily forgettable.

[attachment=0:wvt0lpta]073-eeyore.JPG[/attachment:wvt0lpta]
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 003 - CARTOON CHARACTERS & FAMOUS FACES V
« Reply #6 on: March 25, 2012, 07:24:23 PM »
GROMIT

After the disappointment of the first two designs, this version of Gromit is actually very good. The face is a very nice shape but is a finger killer to make. I thought this may have been easier with a softer balloon, which it was, but the shape wasn’t as good. A nice parody and one I have remade a few times.

[attachment=0:bbbuavr6]074-gromit.gif[/attachment:bbbuavr6]

p.s. only had a small photo in my archive - sorry
« Last Edit: March 25, 2012, 07:27:30 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 003 - CARTOON CHARACTERS & FAMOUS FACES V
« Reply #7 on: March 25, 2012, 07:25:16 PM »
NINJA TURTLE

For a simplistic design to make, the end result is very good. The colours can be interchanged to make all four
turtles. I’ve found a use for the stack of dark green 260s I’ve had sitting in my cupboard for a while!

[attachment=0:32bq91a3]075-ninjaturtle.JPG[/attachment:32bq91a3]
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 003 - CARTOON CHARACTERS & FAMOUS FACES V
« Reply #8 on: March 25, 2012, 07:26:07 PM »
SPONGEBOB

This version of Spongebob is excellent but I can’t give full credit to the instructions on the DVD. I ended up having to guess how many rows of each colour and resorted to glue dots to secure the eyes and the legs on the inside of the body. This balloon has some nice animation with the partially inflated 160s for the  arms and legs’ wobbling about as the balloon is carried
around. This balloon was a huge success at a recent party and once it goes on my website I am sure I will have to make it time and time again.

[attachment=0:1vdcwz08]076-spongebob.JPG[/attachment:1vdcwz08]
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk