Author Topic: 005 - PERSONAL FAVOURITES PATRICK VAN DE VEN  (Read 3066 times)

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
005 - PERSONAL FAVOURITES PATRICK VAN DE VEN
« on: April 29, 2011, 10:35:20 AM »
I have always been impressed with Patrick’s designs when I stumble across photos of them on various websites and so I was very excited to see Patrick’s first (I think) DVD release. I must say this first collection didn’t disappoint. The DVD production quality is excellent. Patrick is a fine teacher and carefully explains each step. There is something here for everyone in terms of ballooning skills with a few designs being at the advanced level. I really hope Patrick produces volume 2 comprising of some more of his advanced models.  

The price of $40 is reasonable value for money and  is available from http://www.tmyers.com
« Last Edit: April 02, 2013, 01:10:54 AM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

jase

  • OneStar
  • *
  • Posts: 93
    • View Profile
Re: Balloon Review 005 - PERSONAL FAVOURITES PATRICK VAN DE VEN
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2011, 12:12:30 PM »
I enjoyed his dvd also - thanks for the review

I liked the dinosaur, then when I did the next show forgot how to make it, tried to make it up and kinda came up with my own design - so all worked out for me.

thanks for the review as always
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 005 - PERSONAL FAVOURITES PATRICK VAN DE
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2012, 07:32:03 PM »
FROG

A nicely shaped frog with extended back legs. This frog looks like it is in mid-hop and makes a good model. This takes too long for line work but ideal for restaurants.

[attachment=0:1zm8mlzz]077-frog.JPG[/attachment:1zm8mlzz]
« Last Edit: March 27, 2012, 07:37:35 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 005 - PERSONAL FAVOURITES PATRICK VAN DE
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2012, 07:32:32 PM »
TIGER

I was a little surprised to see a one balloon model on this DVD. The photo doesn’t do this one justice but it is a nice variation on all the hundreds of single balloon animals already seen. Very good for line work and not a animal that will keep coming undone.

[attachment=0:2kf9s0pv]078-tiger.JPG[/attachment:2kf9s0pv]
« Last Edit: March 27, 2012, 07:37:52 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 005 - PERSONAL FAVOURITES PATRICK VAN DE
« Reply #4 on: March 27, 2012, 07:32:52 PM »
DOLPHIN

A lovely model and a great way to present a simple dolphin. I am not very good at making balloon hearts and so this one isn’t shaped very well. The addition of a flower and bubbles really adds something special.

[attachment=0:1xtfed5x]080-dolphin.JPG[/attachment:1xtfed5x]
« Last Edit: March 27, 2012, 07:38:09 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 005 - PERSONAL FAVOURITES PATRICK VAN DE
« Reply #5 on: March 27, 2012, 07:33:13 PM »
MONKEY

An unusual monkey with a slightly strange face. In my opinion this is the weakest balloon of the collection and not one I will make often.

[attachment=0:2aoth6oi]081-monkey.JPG[/attachment:2aoth6oi]
« Last Edit: March 27, 2012, 07:38:28 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 005 - PERSONAL FAVOURITES PATRICK VAN DE
« Reply #6 on: March 27, 2012, 07:33:39 PM »
HORSE

This horse is superb and an inventive way to use a 646Q for the face. This model took a few attempts as you need to get the 646 to the perfect length otherwise the end result looks terrible. The ear design is great and the 160Q reins keeps the model together and makes a solid design. This is a model I will be making many times.

[attachment=0:36i2bpdm]082-horse.JPG[/attachment:36i2bpdm]
« Last Edit: March 27, 2012, 07:38:44 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 005 - PERSONAL FAVOURITES PATRICK VAN DE
« Reply #7 on: March 27, 2012, 07:33:57 PM »
DINO

A great dino model with a simple face that means it can be made fairly quicky. A large model with minimal use of balloons.

[attachment=0:1x7cu52r]083-dino.JPG[/attachment:1x7cu52r]
« Last Edit: March 27, 2012, 07:39:02 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 005 - PERSONAL FAVOURITES PATRICK VAN DE
« Reply #8 on: March 27, 2012, 07:34:25 PM »
CROCODILE

This crocodile is incredible. The crocodile’s head  is challenging as it uses a raisin to secure the eyes as well as a technique to use the balloon knotted end to hold the nose in place. The face was tough and took a few attempts. You only really get a couple of attempts  to grab the raisin before the balloon pops or slowly inflates. A white paint pen makes wonderful teeth and
adds character to the balloon.

[attachment=0:2o5yzat6]084-crocodile.JPG[/attachment:2o5yzat6]
« Last Edit: March 27, 2012, 07:39:18 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 005 - PERSONAL FAVOURITES PATRICK VAN DE
« Reply #9 on: March 27, 2012, 07:34:48 PM »
DINOSAUR

The highlight of the collection is this dinosaur. The 646Q face is very nice and had I made this balloon in green it may well have been mistaken for a toy story character. This model all fits together well. The fixing of the eyes and nose is the same as in the crocodile, however, it is a lot easier with a 646Q. This is a balloon that will be in high demand for my children’s parties.

[attachment=0:sqv8tu9v]085-t-rex.jpg[/attachment:sqv8tu9v]
« Last Edit: March 27, 2012, 07:39:35 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 005 - PERSONAL FAVOURITES PATRICK VAN DE
« Reply #10 on: March 27, 2012, 07:35:10 PM »
DOG

This single balloon dog is lovely and has so much more facial expression than the usual single balloon dog. Ideal for line work and it only takes a little longer than the standard balloon dog and hopefully you can charge a little more for it!

[attachment=0:17vp929d]079-dog.JPG[/attachment:17vp929d]
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk