Author Topic: 010 - BALLOONCLICK VIDEO TUTORIALS  (Read 8830 times)

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
010 - BALLOONCLICK VIDEO TUTORIALS
« on: August 08, 2011, 06:25:21 PM »
Hi All,

As promised I am writing a review of Ken Stillman's Balloonclick.com and specifically looking at the video tutorials posted for May 2011, the first month of the on-line resource. I was very interested to see this site launch and was skeptical about joining after having my fingers burnt from subscribing to a previous web based tutorial site called something like arttwist.com. This site ran for about six months then disappeared as did all of the content I had paid to access. This is the risk of on-line subscription resources - you can access and retrieve the information for as long as it is on-line and the moment it disappears so does the information you invested in. Given Ken's standing in the balloon community, his excellent published DVDs and the incredibly low price of just ten dollars a month I had nothing to lose. I really didn't have a clue what to expect so had nothing to lose and as I could cancel my subscription after just one month it was worth a punt.

Joining Ken's site is easy and subscriptions are paid via paypal. Subscriptions are automatically taken monthly from your paypal account. The moment you join you can download PDF copies of Awesome Balloon Books Vol 1 - 6 which include hitch hiking hats and the cartoon balloon encyclopedia!

Now onto the video tutorials.

Before I start let me say how easy the site is to navigate and that video streaming is very effective and I had no issues with video playback on my 300KB/s broadband link. Some video tutorials are split into multiple sections and Ken's instruction is first rate and easy to follow. For May 2011, there is a nice selection of balloons for complete beginners and one special balloon for those who have a spare 3-4 hours and enjoy a worldwide treasure hunt for a particular type of balloon.


BALLOONCLICK MAY 2011 VIDEO TUTORIALS - PRICE $10

BUTTERFLY HAT

A very simple and easy to make butterfly hat. The secret here is shaping the wings properly and Ken carefully explains how and where to squeeze the wings to make the perfect shape. A really good hat and one suitable for fast and quick line work.

[attachment=0:lnvna9l9]269-butterflyhat.jpg[/attachment:lnvna9l9]

DOG HAT

A good dog which can be adapted to be a standalone model. This one takes longer than the butterfly and is more complex to make but could still be used for line work if time allows.

[attachment=1:lnvna9l9]270-doghat.jpg[/attachment:lnvna9l9]
« Last Edit: April 02, 2013, 01:29:10 AM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 010 - BALLOONCLICK MAY 2011 VIDEO TUTORIA
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2011, 10:07:03 PM »
FISHERMAN HAT

A simple and fast hat to construct and makes for an excellent model. The way the fish bobs up and down is a lot of fun for kids (and me) - very effective and also a good beginner balloon. Very suitable for line work.

[attachment=1:39wyrdj5]272-fishermanhat.jpg[/attachment:39wyrdj5]


MONKEY ON TREE HAT

This hat is very quick and a good beginner balloon suitable for line work. The only problem with this hat is the one I made was top heavy so the tree tended to tip forward too much even with a few added pinch twists.

[attachment=0:39wyrdj5]274-monkeyhat.jpg[/attachment:39wyrdj5]
« Last Edit: March 29, 2012, 09:06:58 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 010 - BALLOONCLICK MAY 2011 VIDEO TUTORIA
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2011, 10:21:51 PM »
NINJA TURTLE



Just when I thought the first month's worth of tutorials would be for beginners, Ken posted the incredible Ninja Turtle. This model stands around 4ft high and is very solid when built. This model uses a new technique (for me) that I hadn't seen before. The head is made from an 18" round balloon that is stuffed with a mixture of other inflated balloons to give the facial features. A really clever idea.

The first challenge was to find somewhere in the UK that stocked Betalatex 18" key lime round balloons. I couldn't find any so after a few weeks I received a bag from the USA. The cost worked out around £14 for a pack of 50 balloons shipped from the USA. Ken said you could also use 16" round balloons but after working with 18" I think this would be extremely difficult. I will try with future models. To save money I decided to use Qualatex lime green for the rest of the body hence the small mismatch in shading between the head and the body. Sorry I am a perfectionist.

Making the head was so frustrating and incredibly painful on the fingers to the point I almost gave up. I popped a fair few balloons but in the end I obtained a shape that was acceptable (still no-where as good as Ken's). I would not recommend this for beginners and in my mind is really best for an advanced twister.

Compared to the head the body was simple. The shell construction requires careful measuring with a tape to get the right shape. The shoulder pieces really hold the head in place and makes the model sturdy. I am not joking when I say this took me 3-4 hours to make. Certainly not suitable for line work!

When the new turtle movie comes out I may be brave to make a complete set of four. An incredibly impressive model and  worth$50 not the measly $10 i paid! Has anyone else made this yet? If so, please post your version as I would love to see it.

[attachment=0:1yixznuh]276-ninjaturtle.jpg[/attachment:1yixznuh]
« Last Edit: March 29, 2012, 09:06:08 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

Lisa Chester

  • FourStars
  • ****
  • Posts: 557
    • View Profile
    • http://www.LisasBalloons.co.nz
Re: Balloon Review 010 - BALLOONCLICK MAY 2011 VIDEO TUTORIALS
« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2011, 04:40:47 AM »
Thanks so much for posting these Nippy - I had wondered about upgrading my membership
Great to see
Lisa
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »

Pam Pearce

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 1058
    • View Profile
    • http://www.balloonsandtunes.co.uk
Re: Balloon Review 010 - BALLOONCLICK MAY 2011 VIDEO TUTORIALS
« Reply #4 on: August 09, 2011, 09:42:41 AM »
for your face?

did you inflate the balloons inside the balloon or try to put in balloons already inflated?

It so much easier to inflate them inside the balloon, just less able to judge the sizing unless you are using a balloon sizer machine

and less painfull on the fingers

Pam
xx

Sorry loving the reviews... keep it up...not looked at this site yet.. will now...xx
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 010 - BALLOONCLICK MAY 2011 VIDEO TUTORIALS
« Reply #5 on: August 09, 2011, 11:51:18 AM »
Lisa - I am pleased you find my review useful. I still have a few more models to add. The great thing about Ken's site is that it is extremely good value and there are no long term commitments. You can register for one month and that's it. I thought the content of this site may dwindle after the initial batch of designs were uploaded. This is far from true. In June and July, Ken added a brilliant Prince and Spiderman, using a similar design to the ninja turtle face plus there is a large ice cream decor piece. And for those not so advanced there is a nice collection of hats. I really hope Ken can sustain the enthusiasm and regular content updates.

Pam - thanks for your help and advice - much appreciated. I don't have any automatic inflation gadgets at home so just had my usual pump. The balloons were inserted into the 18" round uninflected, I then inflated them and spent ages trying to get them in the right position. Constantly blowing up the 18", moving the internal balloons around, deflating the 18"' rechecking and so on and so on.

I not planning on making these in massive quantities but would something like a balloon stuffer work? I could then inflate the 18" round, insert the smaller balloons inside, inflate and position them before deflating the 18" again. Anyone have any thoughts on this?

Certainly adding my reviews in sections has helped stimulate some great conversations!

Thanks
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

Snurb

  • FourStars
  • ****
  • Posts: 889
    • View Profile
Re: Balloon Review 010 - BALLOONCLICK MAY 2011 VIDEO TUTORIALS
« Reply #6 on: August 09, 2011, 02:15:57 PM »
I have also subscribed and so glad I did!
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 010 - BALLOONCLICK MAY 2011 VIDEO TUTORIA
« Reply #7 on: August 09, 2011, 09:19:38 PM »
HITCHHIKER HAT

A balloon classic by Ken Stillman. I am sure most people will be fully aware of this design. Very quick and easy model to make. I have cut corners this time and not encased the green alien head inside a clear round balloon. A good beginner balloon and great for line work.

[attachment=2:2y8w2oy1]271-hitchhiker.jpg[/attachment:2y8w2oy1]


DRAGON HAT

A very easy and quick dragon hat to make. Not too much to say about this one as it speaks for itself.

[attachment=0:2y8w2oy1]275-dragonhat.jpg[/attachment:2y8w2oy1]


FLAMINGO HAT

A slight addition to the butterfly hat results in a flamingo. A lovely balloon with plenty of character and great for line work and beginners.

[attachment=1:2y8w2oy1]273-flamingohat.jpg[/attachment:2y8w2oy1]
« Last Edit: March 29, 2012, 09:09:01 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 010 - BALLOONCLICK MAY 2011 VIDEO TUTORIA
« Reply #8 on: August 09, 2011, 09:24:52 PM »
SUMMARY

A really promising start to an incredibly cheap on-line balloon resource for the modern age. I recommend everyone sign up to this site. There is something for everyone, from beginners to advanced twisters and there are even a few decor items. I hope Ken manages to sustain the high quality content. I will review future months sometime soon. Look out for his UK lecture in Leeds - tickets available from Graham  :P

BUY THIS ONE!
« Last Edit: April 02, 2013, 01:29:25 AM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

Balloonytoons

  • OneStar
  • *
  • Posts: 90
    • View Profile
    • http://www.balloonytoons.co.uk
Re: Balloon Review 010 - BALLOONCLICK MAY 2011 VIDEO TUTORIALS
« Reply #9 on: August 11, 2011, 12:42:45 PM »
Fantastic review  :D

I would not have noticed the colour difference in the turtle if it wasn't mentioned.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 010 - BALLOONCLICK TUTORIALS
« Reply #10 on: September 29, 2011, 06:37:46 PM »
After the initial wave of balloon models on the site, I do have to say that after a fantastic start there have only been four new video tutorials for August and September, two of which are by Royal Sorrell (and not particularly great either).

I absolutely love Ken's work and still feel the initial two months of contributions were fantastic value for money.

I hope this isn't a sign of things going downhill from here.

I will stay a member for October and then decide whether to cancel or not.

What do other members think?
« Last Edit: February 21, 2012, 10:21:12 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

Graham Lee

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 22621
    • View Profile
    • http://www.grahamleesmagic.co.uk/
Re: Balloon Review 010 - BALLOONCLICK MAY 2011 VIDEO TUTORIALS
« Reply #11 on: September 29, 2011, 06:56:37 PM »
I'm not a member so not able to comment but would give a heads up that Ken is doing a big tour around the USA at the moment and putting a few video clips on BalloonHQ.
His last leg of the tour is Europe and the UK.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »
"Lets Improve Our Art"
Balloon Excellence 2012 Award Winner
For Services to the Balloon Community.
http://www.balloonartwholesale.co.uk
http://www.sempertexballoons.co.uk

CJ Nelson

  • TwoStars
  • **
  • Posts: 168
    • View Profile
Re: Balloon Review 010 - BALLOONCLICK MAY 2011 VIDEO TUTORIALS
« Reply #12 on: October 11, 2011, 02:51:46 AM »
As mentioned by Graham, Ken went on his tour of the US and I had the privilege of hosting one of his stops.  He recently posted a trailer for a new set of videos that he is going to be posting on Balloonclick sometime this month.  These videos will explain the balloon beads that he taught on the tour.  If you are on the fence  about paying for the gold level membership, this will change your mind.  The whole concept behind the balloon beads will blow your mind!  I recently started doing decor and these beads are helping me make a name for myself!   The class was only a month ago and I have already paid for more than a years membership with balloon beads.  This first photo is using the balloon beads and the head is built using Ken's distortion technique as the base.
[attachment=0:ru8jtnj0]Santa Table 2.jpg[/attachment:ru8jtnj0]
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »

CJ Nelson

  • TwoStars
  • **
  • Posts: 168
    • View Profile
Re: Balloon Review 010 - BALLOONCLICK MAY 2011 VIDEO TUTORIALS
« Reply #13 on: October 11, 2011, 02:55:09 AM »
This also used Ken's balloon beads and the simple base that is also on Balloonclick!!
[attachment=0:51hzv8fe]Snowman using beads2.jpg[/attachment:51hzv8fe]
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »

Leslie

  • FourStars
  • ****
  • Posts: 587
    • View Profile
    • http://www.lufiszobor.hu
Re: Balloon Review 010 - BALLOONCLICK MAY 2011 VIDEO TUTORIALS
« Reply #14 on: October 11, 2011, 10:55:36 AM »
Yes, Ken published the balloon beads technique on his site for gold members.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »