Author Topic: 011 - WOWABLES BY BARAK DAGAN  (Read 3220 times)

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
011 - WOWABLES BY BARAK DAGAN
« on: August 13, 2011, 06:42:40 PM »
WOWABLES BY DRAGAN BARAK

I purchased this DVD directly from Barak via his website http://www.balloonart.co.il after seeing a photo on this forum for his heart swan. This DVD is devoted to what Barak defines as Wowables - wearable bracelets that make the audience go wow! A bold claim and can the DVD live up to the hype. Here goes let's find out.

Firstly the DVD is very well produced, very good quality, instant access menus and presented in a fun way. The instructions are straight forward but for those who like to work from precise measurements will have to learn to apply a little guess work.

SMILEYMAN

I have always struggled to find a use for the smiley face balloons. They have also sat a little odd with me in terms of usefulness. This design provides a quick and easy design in which to use them and with a little playing I was able to make smiley wands and hats. Colours can be changed as desired which provides countless possibilities to experiment with. A simple design and one that is perfect to line work.

[attachment=2:od40f37u]383-smileyman.jpg[/attachment:od40f37u]



LADYFISH

A cute girly fish that can be worn as a bracelet. The fish itself is made from a single balloon which speeds up the time to make. The red bow and bubbles is optional and can easily be left out if being made for line work. I think this one will be popular.

[attachment=1:od40f37u]384-ladyfish.jpg[/attachment:od40f37u]


DUCK BRACELET

A small duck made of 260/160s looks great when worn as a bracelet by sticking the child's arm in between the legs. In terms of design there isn't really anything original here as the duck uses the standard duck body, for example, as included in Bonnie's bird PDF collection. A very quick balloon to make, incredibly cute and cartoon like. Fairly quick for line work.

[attachment=0:od40f37u]385-duckbracelet.jpg[/attachment:od40f37u]
« Last Edit: April 02, 2013, 01:46:54 AM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 011 - WOWABLES BY BARAK DAGAN
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2011, 06:44:11 PM »
LARGE DUCK

As well as show how to make the duck bracelet, Barak explains how to make a larger version of his duck using 350s. This duck is very quick to make and really does look very impressive on a larger scale. I have put my large duck on a geo base which makes for a good display. This from one balloon I used at a recent wedding and it really was very popular.

[attachment=1:x1g0kazb]386-largeduck.jpg[/attachment:x1g0kazb]


TURTLE

A very fast and practical turtle that can be worn as a bracelet. The face has plenty of character and shell is made from a single baloon.

[attachment=2:x1g0kazb]387-turtle.jpg[/attachment:x1g0kazb]


FROG

I absolutely love this frog. It somehow reminds me a little of Kermit. Very fast and easily to make. The design reminds me a little of David Grist's snowman with a different head. The use of an unflated heart makes for an effective tongue. Really good and great for all events.

[attachment=0:x1g0kazb]389-frog.jpg[/attachment:x1g0kazb]
« Last Edit: March 30, 2012, 06:05:47 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

Smiggle

  • FourStars
  • ****
  • Posts: 767
    • View Profile
Re: Balloon Review 011 - WOWABLES BY BARAK DAGAN
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2011, 05:24:08 PM »
I think you've sold me this one on what I've seen so far Nippy -I shall be ordering it
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »
C\'mon Let\'s twist again...

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 011 - WOWABLES BY BARAK DAGAN
« Reply #3 on: August 15, 2011, 11:04:21 PM »
PURPLE BIRD

This model looks similar to roadrunner and you may be mistaken for thinking this is the usual roadrunner design. Upon closer look you can see it is actually quite different. The wings are original and use two turtle body designs. A unique twist on the top of the head and the addition of white on the tail make for a great model. Barak's DVD show how to make this into a bracelet but I have replaced his base with just normal legs so it can stand as an individual model. Really nice.

[attachment=2:euf8yut3]391-purplebird.jpg[/attachment:euf8yut3]


PENGUIN

I've seen so many penguins but this one is slightly different in design as you create a body shell for inserting a white round balloon. A nice design to join the several other penguins I make already.

[attachment=1:euf8yut3]388-penguin.jpg[/attachment:euf8yut3]


ORANGE DOG

A strange choice of colours for a dog but even so a nice chunky design that is fast to make. There are no back legs with this model and so the dog doesn't stand on its own very well but then again it is a wearable bracelet. I feel this dog would look better in brown. A nice balloon design.

[attachment=0:euf8yut3]390-orangedog.jpg[/attachment:euf8yut3]
« Last Edit: March 30, 2012, 06:06:59 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 011 - WOWABLES BY BARAK DAGAN
« Reply #4 on: August 19, 2011, 08:16:49 PM »
SWAN

This has to be the star of the DVD. A really lovely swan comprising of two hearts and a 350 to make a nice chunky body. This model has a solid design and would be great as part of a display piece. Amazing with a coin or small weight wedged in the tail it can stand on its own. Clearly not for line work or a wearable item but a great bonus item.

[attachment=0:2ffsplsi]395-swan.jpg[/attachment:2ffsplsi]
« Last Edit: March 30, 2012, 06:07:41 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

Balloonytoons

  • OneStar
  • *
  • Posts: 90
    • View Profile
    • http://www.balloonytoons.co.uk
Re: Balloon Review 011 - WOWABLES BY BARAK DAGAN
« Reply #5 on: August 24, 2011, 01:08:43 PM »
What a fantastic Review, it has inspired me to order a copy of the dvd and can't wait to start trying the designs out.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 011 - WOWABLES BY BARAK DAGAN
« Reply #6 on: August 26, 2011, 09:10:00 PM »
BALLOON MAN

At last I have finally got around to making the last model on this DVD. I have to say this is one of my least favourite. The head was a little tricky to follow on the DVD but the idea behind this design is it is a wearable person that can be adapted like a caricature at a wedding or a party. In all honesty I made a bit of a mess with it but I don't like it. Someone else with a little more patience could do a better job as did Barak on his DVD.

[attachment=0:1z4w6zvm]394-balloonman.jpg[/attachment:1z4w6zvm]



SUMMARY

This is a well produced professional DVD with some lovely models. Not every design is totally original but the instruction is clear and easy to follow along (apart from the balloon man). The results are fairly impressive and just by re-making some of the balloons in 350s and whacking them on top of a geo blossom you end up with some nice display pieces. A great DVD to add to your collection.
« Last Edit: April 02, 2013, 01:47:10 AM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

David Brenion

  • TwoStars
  • **
  • Posts: 162
    • View Profile
Re: 011 - WOWABLES BY BARAK DAGAN - RATING A
« Reply #7 on: March 30, 2012, 10:04:16 PM »
Great review. I also own this DVD and I really love it. My favorite part, however, is when Barak uses his "pump" to blow up a balloon. I wont spoil the surprise for those who have not seen it, but let's just say I laughed out loud for a least a minute or two!
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »

Toby

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Re: 011 - WOWABLES BY BARAK DAGAN - RATING A
« Reply #8 on: March 31, 2012, 04:33:57 AM »
I like that part to David. And Nippy that was a very good review.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »