Author Topic: 012 - SIZE DOES MATTER VOL 1 BY ROGER GODIN  (Read 2379 times)

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
012 - SIZE DOES MATTER VOL 1 BY ROGER GODIN
« on: September 02, 2011, 11:16:54 PM »
SIZE DOES MATTER VOL 1 BY ROGER GODIN

It's time to start another balloon review. This time I have selected a DVD that has been sitting on my shelf for a year or so. I do not know too much about Roger Godin other than he has produced a number of DVDs and this one has been made on the notion that taking 260Q sized models and supersizing them in 350Qs will add to your business for maximum impact. This DVD is available for under £20 from a lot of UK suppliers and has the potential for offering good value for money as one of the lower priced DVDs.

So let's see what we have....

SNAKE

A nice quick and easy snake design suitable for line work. This one has the optional extra for adding a tail that contains 'salt' so that when it is shaken it makes a rattlesnake sound. This design can be simplified if required to speed up the creation process. Not an entirely original design and I have seen better but even so a very usable balloon design and being made in 350s does make for a larger impact.

[attachment=0:1jsxtzlx]218-snake.jpg[/attachment:1jsxtzlx]
« Last Edit: April 02, 2013, 01:29:47 AM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 012 - SIZE DOES MATTER VOL 1 BY ROGER GOD
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2011, 11:21:24 PM »
DINOSAUR

Interestingly an expansion on the previous snake design with the addiitonal of arms and legs. This design can be adapted to be any form of creature and the optional orange spine adds strength to support the structure. Not really suitable for line work but certainly something that can be made in restaurants. I am not so sure the body looks quite right but even so a competent and usable design.

[attachment=0:2623vzso]219-dinosaur.jpg[/attachment:2623vzso]
« Last Edit: March 31, 2012, 03:57:55 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 012 - SIZE DOES MATTER VOL 1 BY ROGER GOD
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2011, 11:24:16 PM »
HORSE

I've seen this design made in 260Qs many times before. Not very original but it is fast to make for line work and is a more substantial model for a child to hold in 350Qs. The colours are easily interchangeable and easily adaptable to be a unicorn. I already made this style of model prior to watching the DVD.

[attachment=0:1gj76vdg]220-horse.jpg[/attachment:1gj76vdg]
« Last Edit: March 31, 2012, 03:58:15 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 012 - SIZE DOES MATTER VOL 1 BY ROGER GOD
« Reply #3 on: September 02, 2011, 11:27:15 PM »
DOLPHIN

A very nice dolphin model that offers some variation over what I have seen before. A very solid looking design with nice 160Q contrasting flippers and whilst the tail design is not clear from my photo it is effective. Probably OK for line work when things are not too busy. A really nice model.

[attachment=0:3rs3mmqm]223-dolphin.jpg[/attachment:3rs3mmqm]
« Last Edit: March 31, 2012, 03:58:41 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 012 - SIZE DOES MATTER VOL 1 BY ROGER GOD
« Reply #4 on: September 02, 2011, 11:30:48 PM »
TURTLE

I have a passion for turtle balloons and this is a nice large version. The 350Q mocha makes a solid and quick to make shell and if you are fast enough this could be made for line work. The model is large and looks great. I was really pleased with this variation on the many turtle designs that are on the market.

[attachment=0:dd06px4h]225-turtle.jpg[/attachment:dd06px4h]
« Last Edit: March 31, 2012, 04:18:32 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 012 - SIZE DOES MATTER VOL 1 BY ROGER GOD
« Reply #5 on: September 11, 2011, 10:27:05 PM »
FROG

A quick and easy frog to make using 160, 260, 350 and a round! The original version of this balloon sits upon a much larger geo (11 or 16" I think) but I was too tight to buy a bag of large geos just for this one model. It sits fairly well on a smaller one. The use of a 350Q for the body makes an excellent anchor point within the centre of the geo. I actually quite like this one and could be done for line work if  not too manic. Ideal for restaurants too.

[attachment=0:1dym0qz7]221-frog.jpg[/attachment:1dym0qz7]
« Last Edit: March 31, 2012, 04:19:03 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 012 - SIZE DOES MATTER VOL 1 BY ROGER GOD
« Reply #6 on: September 11, 2011, 10:46:36 PM »
LOBSTER

Most of this lobster is made from 350Qs. A simple and effective design. This lobster lays a little flat and I prefer the cartoon lobster designs that I have included in previous reviews. Perhaps orange wasn't the best choice for this and red would have been better. A quick and easy lobster. Perhaps ideal for a seafood restaurant!

[attachment=0:3rflga4f]222-lobster.jpg[/attachment:3rflga4f]
« Last Edit: March 31, 2012, 04:19:35 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 012 - SIZE DOES MATTER VOL 1 BY ROGER GOD
« Reply #7 on: September 11, 2011, 11:04:36 PM »
SCORPION

A variation of the lobster balloon with the only difference being the sting in the tail. Made in yellow I struggle to see this as a scorpion. I will leave you to make your own decision. As with the lobster fairly quick to make.

[attachment=0:wk3jzwni]227-scorpion.jpg[/attachment:wk3jzwni]
« Last Edit: March 31, 2012, 04:19:58 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 012 - SIZE DOES MATTER VOL 1 BY ROGER GODIN
« Reply #8 on: September 13, 2011, 10:45:29 PM »
OCTOPUS

I've cheated with this balloon as I didn't want to buy the required 24" (or so) orange round balloon. This design is very simple and doesn't really add anything to any other octopus design I have seen before.

[attachment=0:263h5x8z]octo.jpg[/attachment:263h5x8z]
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 012 - SIZE DOES MATTER VOL 1 BY ROGER GOD
« Reply #9 on: September 13, 2011, 10:56:19 PM »
LION

This lion is just a giant version of a standard 260Q tiger. It's OK but not particularly impressive. Probably not one I will make again as it uses quite a few 350Qs and is a little time consuming to make.

[attachment=1:1ntfje0g]226-lion.jpg[/attachment:1ntfje0g]


WHALE

A large orca whale made using the standard whale technique. Fast to make, suitable for line work, nothing special here.

[attachment=0:1ntfje0g]224-whale.jpg[/attachment:1ntfje0g]
« Last Edit: March 31, 2012, 04:20:44 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 012 - SIZE DOES MATTER VOL 1 BY ROGER GOD
« Reply #10 on: September 13, 2011, 11:00:47 PM »
SUMMARY

Finally this review is coming to an end - sorry for the delay in completing it! I have mixed opinions about this DVD. Part of me feels that if these models were made in 260Qs then this DVD wouldn't be anything special but in 350Qs it seems to me to offer a little more. Certainly the DVD is well made, the instructions are clear and each model is easily accessed from the menu. There is also a bonus section which explains basic balloon twisting techniques, tips for laying out your balloon bag plus a bonus model by Frank Stringham which I haven't reviewed as it appears in another DVD that I will be reviewing at some point in the future.

Under normal circumstances I would give this a rating of B+ but given the lower than normal pricing of around £20 then I will award it an A-

If you do not have any of these designs, or are new to working with larger models and 350Qs then you can't really go wrong with this collection.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk