Author Topic: 015 - ANIMATED ART OF BALLOONS VOL 1 CARL SKENES  (Read 1835 times)

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
015 - ANIMATED ART OF BALLOONS VOL 1 CARL SKENES
« on: September 18, 2011, 02:33:30 PM »
Balloon Review 015 - ANIMATED ART OF BALLOONS VOL 1 by CARL SKENES

I discovered this DVD amongst the classified ads on balloonhq.com and promptly ordered it via Carl's website for only $25. The DVD arrived from the USA within a week so the service was very good. I was attracted to this DVD not only by the disney parody content and the lower than average price but the discovery that Carl has over 40 years experience including theme parks. My only experience with Mickey and Minnie mouse is on the wonderful David Grist DVDs so this one really had to surpass the standard already set... could it?

Let's see....

MERMAID

Mmmm, not a particularly great start. Yes this mermaid is OK and quite quick to make but I've seen this design many times before. In fact, Don Caldwell's mermaid is my most popular balloon and one I have made 1000s (literally) of times. Carl shows us how to mount this balloon onto a stick to add some 'animation'. Not one I will be using again but if you want a quick and easy mermaid for line work this could be OK for you.

[attachment=0:1bruuhit]149-mermaid.JPG[/attachment:1bruuhit]
« Last Edit: April 02, 2013, 01:30:24 AM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 015 - ANIMATED ART OF BALLOONS VOL 1
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2011, 02:37:00 PM »
YELLOW DOG

Does this one look like someone you know? This is a very nice balloon that stands well on it's own. Carl's attention to detail is very good and it is the little touches (such as making the tips of the ears wider than the rest of the balloon) that create a quality model. As with all of Carl's designs, he doesn't explain bubble sizes very well and it is left down to the twister to work with what they feel is best. This is why this balloon is not for beginners. This balloon is not really for line work but is good to parties or restaurants. Instantly recognisable. Very nice..

[attachment=0:1kbw3dda]150-yellowdog.JPG[/attachment:1kbw3dda]
« Last Edit: April 02, 2012, 10:07:32 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 015 - ANIMATED ART OF BALLOONS VOL 1
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2011, 02:41:58 PM »
BOY MOUSE

This design is certainly one of the most detailed I have worked with before. The head comprises of a size bubble bird body with the blush face shape tied onto the front of it. From the front it looks OK but from the side I feel it looks a little odd. The ears are tied onto the side of the head. A more integrated head design who have been better.

The use of 321s is effective for the top of the legs especially as the black tip makes an excellent pre-made anchor point to the body. Multiple tulip twists to join the different colour balloons together makes a neat design. Whilst I think it looks better, I still prefer David Grist's design in terms of speed and usability. This is not something that will work in theme parks, restaurants or line work and I feel with the complexity and multiple balloons required means this is a pre-made balloon only.

I will leave you to decide if this looks like the famous mouse or not.

[attachment=0:ljl8ev4w]151-boymouse.jpg[/attachment:ljl8ev4w]
« Last Edit: April 02, 2012, 10:07:53 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 015 - ANIMATED ART OF BALLOONS VOL 1
« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2011, 02:46:17 PM »
GIRL MOUSE

Clearly there is some design overlap between this mouse and the boy mouse. This is where I got a little frustrated as the DVD requires you to flick back and forth between both mouse 'chapters' to understand how the whole thing is put together. Although it involves some duplication it would have been better to have a complete set of video instructions for the girl mouse as a standalone item.

The comments are really the same as the boy mouse. The dress is made up of balloon rings which are just tied along the back of the model. I feel this could be tided up by perhaps joining at the back with some neat pinch twists or something. The white dots were not included in the instructions but I decided to add some stickers myself to complete the look.

This balloon is without doubt instantly recognisable but I can't help thinking it could have been so much better. I am of course being overly critical and must remember that the average punter is content with a single balloon dog!

[attachment=0:3fikb786]152-girlmouse.jpg[/attachment:3fikb786]
« Last Edit: April 02, 2012, 10:08:12 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 015 - ANIMATED ART OF BALLOONS VOL 1
« Reply #4 on: September 18, 2011, 02:49:32 PM »
SUMMARY

With only four models on this DVD this is really someone with a specific need will purchase. The DVD is well produced and is good value for money. The best thing about this DVD are the little gems of wisdom and helpful hints and tips that Carl offers which can only have been gained by working in the real world and perfecting his art for so many years.

This DVD is for experienced twisters only otherwise the frustration of trying to following the instructions and guessing bubble sizes will take its toll.

For the reasons explained in this review, I cannot give this an A rating even though I would still recommend purchasing this DVD.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk