Author Topic: 014 - YOU WANT ME TO MAKE YOU A WHAT  (Read 3621 times)

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
014 - YOU WANT ME TO MAKE YOU A WHAT
« on: September 16, 2011, 09:58:46 PM »
Balloon Review 014 - YOU WANT ME TO MAKE YOU A WHAT? BY REBECCA KANAR

I am not familiar of Rebecca Kanar's work and decided to buy this DVD completely a random. The theme of this DVD is 'off the wall' requests so I am expecting some unusual and original designs. I purchased this as a batch from TMYERS and it cost me $40 (around £30) so not a cheap DVD. Let's see what we have here....

FOOTBALL HELMET AND FOOTBALL

I've never had a request for an american football helmet but then again this sport is not that popular in the UK. Even so, this is a nice design. It can be easily adapted for any type of full face helmets. The use of a 646Q to make a football (could be a rugby ball) is really effective when decorated with a white paint pen. A good model.

[attachment=0:3qvuytqw]167-footballhelmet.jpg[/attachment:3qvuytqw]
« Last Edit: April 02, 2013, 01:30:50 AM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 014 - YOU WANT ME TO MAKE YOU A WHAT?
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2011, 10:01:19 PM »
QUICK PRINCESS

I've seen countless designs for Princesses but this one claims to be quick to make. In fact it is quick to make and perfect for line work. It looks quite good. I will be using this one.

[attachment=0:1og903ak]168-princess.jpg[/attachment:1og903ak]
« Last Edit: April 02, 2012, 10:19:13 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 014 - YOU WANT ME TO MAKE YOU A WHAT?
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2011, 10:03:09 PM »
FAIRY

A variation on the previous princess and a quick to make fairy. Really cute and very popular with the girls.

[attachment=0:16w8jjg2]169-fairy.jpg[/attachment:16w8jjg2]
« Last Edit: April 02, 2012, 10:19:32 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 014 - YOU WANT ME TO MAKE YOU A WHAT?
« Reply #3 on: September 16, 2011, 10:05:46 PM »
CAR

After such a positive start I find myself making a car which is quite poor. The wheels are split tulip twists but the body shape could be better. There are better car designs around which are equally fast to make.

[attachment=0:2x0swawz]170-car.jpg[/attachment:2x0swawz]
« Last Edit: April 02, 2012, 10:19:51 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 014 - YOU WANT ME TO MAKE YOU A WHAT?
« Reply #4 on: September 17, 2011, 10:10:48 AM »
TOW TRUCK

A variation on the previous car. I think this model has potential but does need some more work. The shape doesn't remind me of a two truck and it just looks a little messy. Although it may take a little longer, if you are after a nice tow truck, check out Shirley Ray's version.

[attachment=0:1kpib0e7]171-towtruck.jpg[/attachment:1kpib0e7]
« Last Edit: April 02, 2012, 10:20:09 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 014 - YOU WANT ME TO MAKE YOU A WHAT?
« Reply #5 on: September 17, 2011, 10:12:19 AM »
T-REX

There are so many T-Rex designs around. However, this one is ideal for line work as the whole balloon (excluding the eyes) uses only two lime green 260s so it is very fast and economical to make! I will be using this one.

[attachment=0:2897reiv]172-trex.jpg[/attachment:2897reiv]
« Last Edit: April 02, 2012, 10:20:29 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

Lynnae

  • FourStars
  • ****
  • Posts: 540
    • View Profile
    • http://savannahballoons.com/
Re: Balloon Review 014 - YOU WANT ME TO MAKE YOU A WHAT?
« Reply #6 on: September 17, 2011, 12:05:15 PM »
Nippy, I love your reviews!  I know they take a lot of time, but you are so detailed.  Thank you for all of them!  They are a great resource!
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »
http://www.savannahballoons.com
"Nobody can be uncheered by a balloon!" - Winnie the Pooh

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 014 - YOU WANT ME TO MAKE YOU A WHAT?
« Reply #7 on: September 17, 2011, 05:00:08 PM »
Hi Lynnae,

Thanks for your positive feedback. As long as people find them helpful I will continue to do them. If there is any learning resource that has caught your eye let me know what it is and I will try to review it.

Hopefully I will finish this DVD over the weekend.

Best wishes

Darren
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

wizzzz

  • OneStar
  • *
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
    • http://www.yourwizzbang.co.uk
Re: Balloon Review 014 - YOU WANT ME TO MAKE YOU A WHAT?
« Reply #8 on: September 17, 2011, 07:36:02 PM »
Quote from: "Lynnae"
Nippy, I love your reviews!  I know they take a lot of time, but you are so detailed.  Thank you for all of them!  They are a great resource!

Same here, nice reviews
Wizzzz
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »

Rob Redmon

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: Balloon Review 014 - YOU WANT ME TO MAKE YOU A WHAT?
« Reply #9 on: September 17, 2011, 07:43:28 PM »
Nippy,

Just wanted to echo the above praise for your reviews and a send a big thanks.  They are by far the most useful and complete reviews I have seen and are a fantastic resource when DVD shopping.  In a review of reviews, you get an A++!

Thanks again and please keep up the great work!

- Rob
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 014 - YOU WANT ME TO MAKE YOU A WHAT?
« Reply #10 on: September 17, 2011, 07:46:45 PM »
Rob & Wizzz.. thanks guys. I am pleased you find them useful. Just finished three more models from this DVD....
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 014 - YOU WANT ME TO MAKE YOU A WHAT?
« Reply #11 on: September 17, 2011, 07:51:20 PM »
PANDA BEAR

A very basic panda bear and ideal for a beginner. The black pinch twist ears can be difficult to push and secure on the white balloon. I would have loved this balloon many years ago but i've moved on a bit since then. This is just really a variation on the traditional teddy bear. But then my reviews are not based on how complex the balloons are or where I am in my balloon modelling adventure. This DVD is sold as items that are unusual - a panda bear is not unusual.

[attachment=0:37le7dd2]173-pandabear.jpg[/attachment:37le7dd2]
« Last Edit: April 02, 2012, 10:20:56 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 014 - YOU WANT ME TO MAKE YOU A WHAT?
« Reply #12 on: September 17, 2011, 07:55:40 PM »
POLAR BEAR

This really is not the sort of balloon you expect to find on a $40 DVD. This really is nothing more than a standard balloon dog with a bubble on the nose. Really poor. I expect to see something like this on a beginner's DVD. Very disappointed. Ideal for line work... except you may not have a line of people queuing for this!

[attachment=0:1hsahnjf]174-polarbear.jpg[/attachment:1hsahnjf]
« Last Edit: April 02, 2012, 10:21:14 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 014 - YOU WANT ME TO MAKE YOU A WHAT?
« Reply #13 on: September 17, 2011, 07:59:45 PM »
Pterodactyl

I am not an expert on dinosaurs and have never heard of a Pterodactyl so I cannot comment on how accurate this model is. When viewing this on the DVD I was not looking forward to making it. It didn't look particularly great. Reluctantly to finish my review I made it. WOW, what a surprise. In real-life this is actually very good. The hat design is clever in that the 'shoulders' of the wings slide along the back to make the hat adjustable. That is a really nice addition and something I can use in future designs.

Just when i thought this DVD was going down hill again this one saved the day. Very good.

[attachment=0:2e24iyqk]175-petrodactyl.jpg[/attachment:2e24iyqk]
« Last Edit: April 02, 2012, 10:21:35 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 014 - YOU WANT ME TO MAKE YOU A WHAT?
« Reply #14 on: September 17, 2011, 09:48:19 PM »
HAWK

A variation of the previous bird hat. Again the design is great as the hat is adjustable and this one is fairly quick to make.

[attachment=0:1qayghu9]176-hawk.jpg[/attachment:1qayghu9]
« Last Edit: April 02, 2012, 10:21:58 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk