Author Topic: 014 - YOU WANT ME TO MAKE YOU A WHAT  (Read 3620 times)

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 014 - YOU WANT ME TO MAKE YOU A WHAT?
« Reply #15 on: September 17, 2011, 09:52:39 PM »
HERMIT CRAB

There are two twists that I have yet to master and really struggle with. One of them is a very deep hook twist and the other are tightly wound balloon spirals. Just my luck that the shell of this hermit crab uses one of those!

The photo below doesn't do the original model justice as my shell is too loose and the shape is not good enough. I really like this model but in this instance I let the creator down. I won't be making it again in a hurry! My loss.

[attachment=0:rs85mgbr]178-hermitcrab.jpg[/attachment:rs85mgbr]
« Last Edit: April 02, 2012, 10:22:18 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

Lisa Chester

  • FourStars
  • ****
  • Posts: 557
    • View Profile
    • http://www.LisasBalloons.co.nz
Re: Balloon Review 014 - YOU WANT ME TO MAKE YOU A WHAT?
« Reply #16 on: September 18, 2011, 09:53:21 AM »
Thanks so much Nippy for these reviews!!  Very helpful!

A Pterodactyl is what is now called a Pteranodon (probably had a few wrong bits in it, so they had to rename it) though I'm not an expert - just a mum of a dino-mad 5 year old.

Hat looks useful   :D
« Last Edit: September 19, 2011, 08:34:56 AM by Lisa Chester »

Snurb

  • FourStars
  • ****
  • Posts: 889
    • View Profile
Re: Balloon Review 014 - YOU WANT ME TO MAKE YOU A WHAT?
« Reply #17 on: September 18, 2011, 11:36:37 AM »
Thanks for taking the time to review and photograph. really useful.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 014 - YOU WANT ME TO MAKE YOU A WHAT?
« Reply #18 on: September 20, 2011, 12:41:15 AM »
EAGLE

Another variation of the previous bird hats but this time an eagle.

[attachment=0:21zxg01z]177-eagle.jpg[/attachment:21zxg01z]
« Last Edit: April 02, 2012, 10:22:39 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 014 - YOU WANT ME TO MAKE YOU A WHAT?
« Reply #19 on: September 20, 2011, 12:42:37 AM »
KILLER WHALE

A nice killer whale balloon. In particular I like the wrap around fins which I haven't see before. Suitable for line work.

[attachment=0:135q6bl0]179-killerwhale.jpg[/attachment:135q6bl0]
« Last Edit: April 02, 2012, 10:22:58 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 014 - YOU WANT ME TO MAKE YOU A WHAT?
« Reply #20 on: September 20, 2011, 12:44:11 AM »
OWL

This balloon has a lot of potential but I probably haven't done the best job here. I like the top of the head design with the ears, eyebrows and eyes. Very nice.

[attachment=0:3nwopu5w]180-owl.jpg[/attachment:3nwopu5w]
« Last Edit: April 02, 2012, 10:23:21 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 014 - YOU WANT ME TO MAKE YOU A WHAT?
« Reply #21 on: September 20, 2011, 12:46:30 AM »
PLATYPUS

Sorry but I really don't get this one. I am not an expert on the Platypus but this balloon looks really silly. It wasn't find to make and is really a one off!

[attachment=0:1947gs60]181-platypus.jpg[/attachment:1947gs60]
« Last Edit: April 02, 2012, 10:23:39 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 014 - YOU WANT ME TO MAKE YOU A WHAT?
« Reply #22 on: September 20, 2011, 12:49:20 AM »
SUMMARY

This DVD is a mixed bag collection. There are some very nice designs here but others fall short of my expectations. On a positive note there are some effective design components that can be made to make other future designs. Probably one to buy if you are interested in a specific model contained in this review. This DVD would be good for a beginner to take that next step. Certainly not one of the cheaper DVDs and so this one only scores a B-
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk