Author Topic: 024 - BALLOON MAGIC MAGAZINE #64  (Read 2454 times)

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
024 - BALLOON MAGIC MAGAZINE #64
« on: February 29, 2012, 12:09:07 PM »
BALLOON MAGIC MAGAZINE #64

I haven't reviewed an edition of Balloon Magic Magazine for a while so I picked up a copy at random from my stack. The magazines I posted here so far have been excellent and offer extremely good value for money. At a quick scan I can see the creations of Tonya McNeill dominate the content and so it won't surprise me if the models are exceptional.

Here goes....

p.s. these models are made in real-time so it may take me a few days to complete this review.
« Last Edit: April 02, 2013, 01:47:34 AM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 024 - BALLOON MAGIC MAGAZINE #64
« Reply #1 on: February 29, 2012, 01:18:59 PM »
GEO-LAMB by Tonya McNeill

An excellent lamb using three white geos for the body. When I first made this model it didn't quite look right but the moment the legs were added it looked much better and took a lovely shape. The head design is brilliant and could be easily adapted for other models. Whilst I made my lamb in brown and white, I am sure it will look equally lovely as a black lamb. With Easter approaching this is an ideal display or delivery piece. Now even if all the other models are rubbish in the magazine it's be worth $7.

[attachment=0:27bd2108]568-geolamb.jpg[/attachment:27bd2108]
« Last Edit: April 06, 2012, 10:27:22 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 024 - BALLOON MAGIC MAGAZINE #64
« Reply #2 on: February 29, 2012, 04:07:47 PM »
LADY BUG by Tonya

In Tonya's original design she uses the printed polkadot red balloons but as I didn't have any I did my own artwork. This ladybug is good. Using a raisin inside the red round gives a better shape than twisting a sidewall bubble on top to secure it to the neck but this does make it a little time consuming especially for line work. The mix of black 260 and 160 gives the base of the balloon a good shape. I would say using the 160q red balloon to make the wings and the bubbles on top of the head makes it a little tricky to get the right amount of air into each part of the balloon. Very nice all the same.

[attachment=0:2wy88wuw]569-ladybug.jpg[/attachment:2wy88wuw]
« Last Edit: April 06, 2012, 10:27:42 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 024 - BALLOON MAGIC MAGAZINE #64
« Reply #3 on: February 29, 2012, 06:12:50 PM »
SKUNK by Tonya

Another lovely design by Tonya. My photo doesn't convey how good it really is. I have seen many designs use 321Qs but this one is really clever. I love the tail design. A little challenging for a beginner and the photos in the magazine could be better given the background is black!

[attachment=0:2l5usfeg]570-skunk.jpg[/attachment:2l5usfeg]
« Last Edit: April 06, 2012, 10:28:09 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 024 - BALLOON MAGIC MAGAZINE #64
« Reply #4 on: February 29, 2012, 10:22:36 PM »
FLY SWATTER by Tonya

A very quick and easy balloon which is also great fun. I've just spent the last 10 mins hitting this fly around my living room. The fly is very simple. The swatter is a little more tricky tying the clear balloons across the frame of the swatter but nothing too bad.

Make two swatters and play bug tennis!

[attachment=0:15r9lnxk]571-flyswatter.jpg[/attachment:15r9lnxk]
« Last Edit: April 06, 2012, 10:28:29 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 024 - BALLOON MAGIC MAGAZINE #64
« Reply #5 on: March 02, 2012, 10:18:05 PM »
GIANT BUNNY MASK by Takehiro Kai

Having spent the last few weeks working with David Brenion's mask designs I was keen to see someone else's way of making a mask. To me, whilst the end result is pleasing, I cannot believe this one takes 11 x 646s! I didn't make the optional bunny paws. A nice result but time consuming to make although I will give it away at a party tomorrow.

[attachment=0:cd67mekq]572-bunnymask.jpg[/attachment:cd67mekq]
« Last Edit: April 06, 2012, 10:28:50 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 024 - BALLOON MAGIC MAGAZINE #64
« Reply #6 on: March 02, 2012, 10:19:49 PM »
SUMMARY

Another example of a well spent $7 for five usable designs. All the models are well described and photographed and this comes highly recommended.


Any requests for my next review??
« Last Edit: April 02, 2013, 01:47:44 AM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

TwistTheBalloonguy

  • OneStar
  • *
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
    • Http://Www.twist-the-balloon-guy.moonfruit.com
Re: Balloon Review 024 - BALLOON MAGIC MAGAZINE #64
« Reply #7 on: March 05, 2012, 09:39:10 PM »
Quote from: "nippy99"
LADY BUG by Tonya

In Tonya's original design she uses the printed polkadot red balloons but as I didn't have any I did my own artwork. This ladybug is good. Using a raisin inside the red round gives a better shape than twisting a sidewall bubble on top to secure it to the neck but this does make it a little time consuming especially for line work. The mix of black 260 and 160 gives the base of the balloon a good shape. I would say using the 160q red balloon to make the wings and the bubbles on top of the head makes it a little tricky to get the right amount of air into each part of the balloon. Very nice all the same.

[attachment=0:1krfiber]569-ladybug.jpg[/attachment:1krfiber]


to save time use dried chick peas for raisin twists instead of twisting your own
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »
"where did you learn how to do this?"
"prison......................no, not really!!"

phoenix

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 2335
    • View Profile
    • http://www.funtimeballoonsweymouth.co.uk
Re: Balloon Review 024 - BALLOON MAGIC MAGAZINE #64
« Reply #8 on: March 05, 2012, 10:23:02 PM »
What a great idea.....I've never heard of that before, I must get hold of some to try it out.

Thanks for posting that idea  :D
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »
Kind regards
Kevin

Website  http://www.funtimeballoonsweymouth.co.uk
Gallery   http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=2 ... 8d15867d9c
 
The secret of staying young is to live honestly, eat healthily, and lie about your age.