Author Topic: 026 - HIGH PLAINS TWISTER BY STRETCH  (Read 3094 times)

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 026 - HIGH PLAINS TWISTER BY STRETCH
« Reply #15 on: March 15, 2012, 11:59:07 PM »
BOW AND ARROW

A very simple bow and arrow - nothing new here but fast to make.

[attachment=0:3t4v9hpc]585-bowarrow.jpg[/attachment:3t4v9hpc]
« Last Edit: March 24, 2012, 02:53:04 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 026 - HIGH PLAINS TWISTER BY STRETCH
« Reply #16 on: March 16, 2012, 12:01:32 AM »
ARROW HAT

This hat is supposed to give the illusion of an arrow passing through the wearer's head. I suppose it would be better with a clear hat but I don't think it looks very good anyway.

[attachment=0:qzto8f1u]583-arrowhat.jpg[/attachment:qzto8f1u]
« Last Edit: March 24, 2012, 02:53:44 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

Graham Lee

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 23154
    • View Profile
    • http://www.grahamleesmagic.co.uk/
Re: Balloon Review 026 - HIGH PLAINS TWISTER BY STRETCH
« Reply #17 on: March 16, 2012, 12:06:07 AM »
Quote from: "nippy99"
I don't think it looks very good anyway.
Stop sitting on that fence Darren  :D  Tell us what you really think!
It is honest though.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »
"Lets Improve Our Art"
Balloon Excellence 2012 Award Winner
For Services to the Balloon Community.
http://www.balloonartwholesale.co.uk
http://www.sempertexballoons.co.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 026 - HIGH PLAINS TWISTER BY STRETCH
« Reply #18 on: March 16, 2012, 12:15:31 AM »
Ha ha - you should know me well enough by now that I speak my mind!
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 026 - HIGH PLAINS TWISTER BY STRETCH
« Reply #19 on: March 16, 2012, 09:39:08 PM »
INDIAN FEATHER HAT

This hat has an interesting feature as Stretch makes a feather and encloses it inside a 350 clear balloon. I am not sure if this is entirely necessary but it does help to hold the feather together. The hat braid has a really nice combination of colours. In a strange way I quite like this one.

[attachment=0:1p6rawsv]587-indianhat.jpg[/attachment:1p6rawsv]
« Last Edit: March 24, 2012, 02:54:14 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 026 - HIGH PLAINS TWISTER BY STRETCH
« Reply #20 on: March 16, 2012, 09:41:38 PM »
COWBOY HAT

This is an oversized giant cowboy hat. The secret here is in the shaping of the hat brim. I am not sure I have it quite right but even so this hat is quick to make and children will enjoy wearing it.

[attachment=0:2qnbtzk3]586-cowboyhat.jpg[/attachment:2qnbtzk3]
« Last Edit: March 24, 2012, 02:54:51 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 026 - HIGH PLAINS TWISTER BY STRETCH
« Reply #21 on: March 16, 2012, 09:44:41 PM »
SHERIFF'S BADGE

This sheriff's badge can easily be used as a star as well. Made from 160s it is very easy to make except the pinch twists on the end of each star point have a habit of coming untwisted as it is being made. I should have taken more care in sizing each bubble accurately as Stretch's version is so much better. Something to try next time.

[attachment=0:2rpraruj]588-sheriffsbadge.jpg[/attachment:2rpraruj]
« Last Edit: March 24, 2012, 02:55:22 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 026 - HIGH PLAINS TWISTER BY STRETCH
« Reply #22 on: March 17, 2012, 12:35:30 AM »
STICK HORSE

A great riding horse, very quick to make and not too difficult for line or restaurant work if time allows. The head design could be adapted to make any variety of animal. There is another version of this horse which I haven't made where is basically extends the neck to make a ring for a child to wear this around their waist.

[attachment=0:w5kjhddn]590-stickhorse.jpg[/attachment:w5kjhddn]
« Last Edit: March 24, 2012, 02:55:55 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 026 - HIGH PLAINS TWISTER BY STRETCH
« Reply #23 on: March 17, 2012, 12:36:49 AM »
BEER MUG

To celebrate the completion of review #26, I have treated myself to a nice cold glass of beer! This glass is made from a weave and I think the overall result is pleasing and effective.

[attachment=0:onk5d9lt]589-beermug.jpg[/attachment:onk5d9lt]
« Last Edit: March 24, 2012, 02:56:22 PM by nippy99 »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk

nippy99

  • FiveStars
  • *****
  • Posts: 3005
    • View Profile
    • http://www.magicworks.ltd.uk
Re: Balloon Review 026 - HIGH PLAINS TWISTER BY STRETCH
« Reply #24 on: March 17, 2012, 12:41:05 AM »
SUMMARY

This DVD has a good selection of designs. Some are very strong, others leave me disappointed. The animals are standard but I really liked the weapons even though some glue was required to complete the designs. Stretch explains each model well and it helps knowing at the start of each video segment the various balloons you will need. Some of the smaller weapons were a little tricky to follow but on the whole the instruction is better than most.

The $40 price tag seems a little steep which prevents me from scoring this as high as I would have liked. My advice is look out for a special Stretch sale offer and buy this is there are specific models you want.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 AM by Guest »
Darren Atkins
MagicWorks Ltd

Web ]www.magicworks.ltd.uk[/url]
Twitter :
@magicworksltd
Facebook ]https://www.facebook.com/magicworks.ltd.uk